• A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market See large image

    A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market (Paperback) By (author) John Allen Paulos

    $12.16 - Save $7.29 37% off - RRP $19.45 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionFrom America's liveliest writer on mathematics, a witty and insightful book on the stock market and the irrepressibility of our dreams of wealth. In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run , this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market

    Title
    A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) John Allen Paulos
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 224
    Width: 135 mm
    Height: 204 mm
    Thickness: 16 mm
    Weight: 191 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780465054817
    ISBN 10: 0465054811
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: FIN
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: S4.9
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 10
    B&T General Subject: 180
    BIC subject category V2: KFFM2
    DC21: 332.6322
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 17800
    Ingram Subject Code: BE
    Libri: I-BE
    B&T Approval Code: A51010000
    BISAC V2.8: BUS036000, BUS036060
    Abridged Dewey: 332
    B&T Approval Code: A47503600
    DC22: 332.632042
    LC classification: HG4515.15 .P38 2004
    Thema V1.0: KFFM
    Edition
    New edition
    Edition statement
    New edition
    Illustrations note
    black & white illustrations
    Publisher
    The Perseus Books Group
    Imprint name
    BASIC BOOKS
    Publication date
    04 May 2004
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    John Allen Paulos' previous books include Innumeracy, Beyond Numeracy, A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper, and Once Upon a Number. He is a Professor of Mathematics at Temple University, a columnist on ABCNews.com, a member of the editorial board of the Philadelphia Daily News, and a frequent commentator on the intersection of mathematics, psychology and everyday life.
    Review quote
    "With accustomed humor and apt examples, Paulos tackles complex computations that are vaguely understood and frequently misapplied by Wall Street pros."