A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market

A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market

Paperback

By (author) John Allen Paulos

$17.83
List price $18.84
You save $1.01 (5%)

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: BASIC BOOKS
  • Format: Paperback | 224 pages
  • Dimensions: 135mm x 204mm x 16mm | 191g
  • Publication date: 4 May 2004
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0465054811
  • ISBN 13: 9780465054817
  • Edition: New edition
  • Edition statement: New edition
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations
  • Sales rank: 277,158

Product description

From America's liveliest writer on mathematics, a witty and insightful book on the stock market and the irrepressibility of our dreams of wealth. In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run , this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

John Allen Paulos' previous books include Innumeracy, Beyond Numeracy, A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper, and Once Upon a Number. He is a Professor of Mathematics at Temple University, a columnist on ABCNews.com, a member of the editorial board of the Philadelphia Daily News, and a frequent commentator on the intersection of mathematics, psychology and everyday life.

Review quote

"With accustomed humor and apt examples, Paulos tackles complex computations that are vaguely understood and frequently misapplied by Wall Street pros."