The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall of Information

The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall of Information

Paperback

By (author) Tim Wu

List price $23.42

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

  • Publisher: ATLANTIC BOOKS
  • Format: Paperback | 384 pages
  • Dimensions: 156mm x 234mm x 35mm | 508g
  • Publication date: 1 March 2011
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1848879857
  • ISBN 13: 9781848879850
  • Edition statement: Export & airside ed
  • Sales rank: 371,013

Product description

The Internet Age: on the face of it, an era of unprecedented freedom in both communication and culture. Yet in the past, each major new medium, from telephone to satellite television, has crested on a wave of similar idealistic optimism, before succumbing to the inevitable undertow of industrial consolidation. Every once free and open technology has, in time, become centralized and closed; as corporate power has taken control of the 'master switch.' Today a similar struggle looms over the Internet, and as it increasingly supersedes all other media the stakes have never been higher. Part industrial expose, part examination of freedom of expression, "The Master Switch" reveals a crucial drama - full of indelible characters - as it has played out over decades in the shadows of global communication. It is suitable for readers of Nicholas Carr's "The Shallows", Clay Shirky's "Cognitive Surplus" and "Googled" by Ken Auletta.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Timothy Wu is an author, a policy advocate, and a professor at Columbia University. A veteran of Silicon Valley, in 2006 he was recognized as one of fifty leaders in science and technology by Scientific American magazine. He won the Lowell Thomas gold medal for Travel Journalism, and has contributed to The New Yorker, The New York Times and Forbes. He is also a fellow of the New America Foundation and the chairman of the media reform organization Free Press. He lives in New York.

Review quote

"'Every now and then a book changes the way we understand the world. The Master Switch is such an achievement... rigorous... imaginative... enthralling.' Steve Coll, author of Ghost Wars"