The Lovers

The Lovers

By (author)


You save US$2.94

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

A chilling thriller featuring Detective Charlie Parker from bestselling author John Connolly. Not to be missed for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly. When Charlie Parker was still a boy, his father, a NYPD cop, killed a young couple, a boy and a girl barely older than his son, then took his own life. There was no explanation for his actions. Stripped of his private investigator's license, and watched by the police, Parker is working in a Portland bar, holding down a job and staying out of trouble. But in the background, he is working on his most personal case yet, an investigation into his own origins and the circumstances surrounding the death of his father, Will. It is an investigation that will reveal a life haunted by lies, by his mother's loss and his father's betrayal, by secrets kept and loyalties compromised. And by two figures in the shadows, a man and a woman, with only one purpose: to bring an end to Charlie Parker's existence ...

show more
  • Paperback | 496 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 32mm | 340.19g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Hodder Paperback
  • LondonUnited Kingdom
  • English
  • 1444704672
  • 9781444704679
  • 50,586

Other books in Crime

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

An intriguing blend of fast-paced crime fiction and fantasy. Independent His latest plot is a clever mixture of quest and chase, written in prose that unfolds at warp speed, and rarely fails to sing. Observer You may think at times you are reading a literary novel but then Connolly will remind you he's just as adept at the violent strategies of the thriller. Either way you will be left shaken by the experience. Daily Express

show more

About John Connolly

John Connolly is the first non-American writer to win the US Shamus award and the first Irish writer to win an Edgar award. His debut - EVERY DEAD THING - introduced the character of Private Investigator Charlie Parker, and swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers. All his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers. Before becoming a novelist, he spent five years working as a journalist for The Irish Times, to which he continues to contribute. In 2007 he was awarded the Irish Post Award for Literature. BOOKS TO DIE FOR, which he edited with Declan Burke, was the winner of the 2013 Anthony, Agatha and Macavity awards for Best Non-Fiction work. You can learn more from John's website,, find him on Facebook, and follow him on Twitter at

show more

Reviews from