The Lives of the Twelve Caesars: Augustus (Dodo Press)

The Lives of the Twelve Caesars: Augustus (Dodo Press)

Paperback The Lives of the Twelve Caesars

By (author) C Suetonius Tranquillus, Edited by T Forester, Translated by Alexander Thomson


Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Dodo Press
  • Format: Paperback | 132 pages
  • Dimensions: 152mm x 222mm x 16mm | 204g
  • Publication date: 31 December 2007
  • Publication City/Country: Gloucester
  • ISBN 10: 1406551449
  • ISBN 13: 9781406551440
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations
  • Sales rank: 1,836,098

Product description

Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus (c70-c140), also known as Suetonius, was a prominent Roman historian and biographer. He is mainly remembered as the author of De Vita Caesarum (Lives of the Caesars, best known in English as The Twelve Caesars), his only extant work. The Twelve Caesars, probably written in Hadrian's time, is a collective biography of the Roman Empire's first leaders who were: Julius Caesar, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Galba, Otho, Vitellius, Vespasian, Titus and Domitian. The work tells the tale of each Caesar's life according to a set formula: the descriptions of appearance, omens, family history, quotes, and then a history are given in a consistent order for each Caesar. Suetonius regarded emperors who amassed wealth for the public purse to be "greedy," perhaps a reflection of the average Roman middle class attitudes.

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11