The Lives of the Twelve Caesars: Julius Caesar (Dodo Press)

The Lives of the Twelve Caesars: Julius Caesar (Dodo Press)


By (author) C Suetonius Tranquillus, Edited by T Forester, Translated by Alexander Thomson


Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Dodo Press
  • Format: Paperback | 80 pages
  • Dimensions: 147mm x 224mm x 10mm | 113g
  • Publication date: 29 February 2008
  • Publication City/Country: Gloucester
  • ISBN 10: 1406551430
  • ISBN 13: 9781406551433
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations
  • Sales rank: 720,940

Product description

Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus (c70-c140), also known as Suetonius, was a prominent Roman historian and biographer. He is mainly remembered as the author of De Vita Caesarum (Lives of the Caesars, best known in English as The Twelve Caesars), his only extant work. The Twelve Caesars, probably written in Hadrian's time, is a collective biography of the Roman Empire's first leaders who were: Julius Caesar, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Galba, Otho, Vitellius, Vespasian, Titus and Domitian. The work tells the tale of each Caesar's life according to a set formula: the descriptions of appearance, omens, family history, quotes, and then a history are given in a consistent order for each Caesar. Suetonius regarded emperors who amassed wealth for the public purse to be "greedy," perhaps a reflection of the average Roman middle class attitudes.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11