• Little Richard: The Birth of Rock 'n' Roll

    Little Richard: The Birth of Rock 'n' Roll (Hardback) By (author) David Kirby

    $15.80 - Save $8.17 34% off - RRP $23.97 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $13.47

    DescriptionThis book is a concise, evocative, and thoroughly researched study of one of the great rock'n'roll pioneers. After "Tutti Frutti," Little Richard began garnering fans from both sides of the civil rights divide. He brought black and white youngsters together on the dance floor and even helped to transform race relations. In June, 2007, Little Richard's 1955 Specialty Records single, "Tutti Frutti" topped "Mojo" magazine's list of '100 Records That Changed the World'. But back in the early 1950s, nobody gave Little Richard a second glance. It was a time in America where the black and white worlds had co-existed separately for nearly two centuries. After "Tutti Frutti" Little Richard began garnering fans from both sides of the civil rights divide. He brought black and white youngsters together on the dance floor and even helped to transform race relations. "Little Richard: The Birth of Rock 'n' Roll" begins by grounding the reader in the fertile soil from which his music sprang. In Macon, Georgia, David Kirby interviews local characters, who knew Little Richard way back when, citing church and family as his true inspiration. Kirby sees Little Richard as a warrior, one fighting with skill and cunning to take his place among the greats. In the words of Keith Richards (on hearing "Tutti Frutti" for the first time), 'it was as though the world changed suddenly from monochrome to Technicolor'. Those sentiments have consistently been echoed by the music-listening world, and the time is ripe for a reassessment of Little Richard's genius and legacy.

Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10


Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Little Richard

    Little Richard
    The Birth of Rock 'n' Roll
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) David Kirby
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 224
    Width: 129 mm
    Height: 198 mm
    Thickness: 21 mm
    Weight: 327 g
    ISBN 13: 9780826429650
    ISBN 10: 0826429653

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: BIO
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T4.1
    BIC subject category V2: BGF
    Ingram Subject Code: MU
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 03
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    BISAC V2.8: MUS035000
    BIC subject category V2: AVGP
    B&T General Subject: 540
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 01
    BISAC V2.8: BIO005000
    LC subject heading: ,
    DC22: 782.42166092
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 15970
    B&T Approval Code: A08745500
    BISAC V2.8: MUS020000, BIO004000
    DC22: 781.66092
    B&T Approval Code: A23306400
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 42
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Approval Code: A08784000
    LC subject heading: , ,
    LC classification: ML420.L773 K57 2009
    Thema V1.0: DNBF, AVLP
    Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
    Imprint name
    Continuum International Publishing Group Ltd.
    Publication date
    01 January 2010
    Publication City/Country
    Author Information
    David Kirby is the Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor of English at Florida State University and lives in Tallahassee, Florida with his wife, the poet Barbara Hamby. He is the author of thirty books including The House on Boulevard St.: New and Selected Poems, which was a finalist for the 2007 National Book Award. He has written on music for The Chicago Tribune, The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, and others. For more information visit www.davidkirby.com.
    Review quote
    'The contentiousness of [this book] is refreshing, and a welcome alternative to merely rehashing facts and figures.' Record Collector--Sanford Lakoff
    Table of contents
    Chapter 1: Early One Morning; Chapter 2: Heeby Jeebies; Chapter 3: Keep A Knockin'; Chapter 4: I Got It; Chapter 5: Ooh! My Soul; Chapter 6: All Around the World; Chapter 7: Maybe I'm Right.