• The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules See large image

    The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules (Pan Books) (Paperback) By (author) Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg, By (author) Rod Bradbury, Translated by Rod Bradbury

    $10.41 - Save $2.49 19% off - RRP $12.90 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionThe Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle. Along with her four oldest friends - otherwise known as the League of Pensioners - Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off ...Perfect for fans of The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules

    Title
    The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg, By (author) Rod Bradbury, Translated by Rod Bradbury
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 464
    Width: 131 mm
    Height: 198 mm
    Thickness: 29 mm
    Weight: 334 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781447250616
    ISBN 10: 1447250613
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    Libri: ENGM1010
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 21110
    Libri: SCHW6910
    BISAC V2.8: FIC000000
    DC23: 839.738
    Publisher
    Pan MacMillan
    Imprint name
    Pan Books
    Publication date
    01 February 2014
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg is a Swedish author who has written seventeen books in several genres, including popular science, cartoon, children's and historical fiction. Her individual writing style, featuring depth of insight, and sense of surprise and humour, gives her books a special appeal. So much so that in 1999 she won the prestigious Widding Prize as the best writer of popular history and historical novels. Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg is a former journalist and marine archaeologist. She now works full-time as an author. To find out more about Catherina, please visit: www.catharinaingelman-sundberg.com
    Review quote
    A good-natured, humorous crime caper Independent on Sunday A quirky, offbeat delight and a heart-warming reminder that one is never too old for some mischief and adventure -- Tom Winter, author of Lost & Found 'A shining expression of how joyous life is. It is not dangerous to grow old if you are like Martha and the gang' Hyllan, blogg 'The funniest book this year!' Magazine Familjen, Norway 'A book which should be read by people of all ages' Radio P4 'A hilarious farce ... highly entertaining with very well crafted characters' Frettabladid newspaper, Iceland 'It has humour, brilliant dialogue, irony and warmth. A light-hearted and enjoyable detective comedy with breath-taking events, which provide many smiles but also reflection on life' PRO Pensionaren 'Criminally fun!' Bonniers Bokklubb 'Very imaginative, fun and filled with gallons of humour!' Katarina Mazetti