The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules

Paperback Pan Books

By (author) Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg, Translated by Rod Bradbury, By (author) Rod Bradbury

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks
  • Publisher: Pan Books
  • Format: Paperback | 464 pages
  • Dimensions: 130mm x 196mm x 32mm | 300g
  • Publication date: 1 February 2014
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1447250613
  • ISBN 13: 9781447250616
  • Edition statement: Main Market Ed.
  • Sales rank: 3,347

Product description

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle. Along with her four oldest friends - otherwise known as the League of Pensioners - Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off ...Perfect for fans of The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg is a Swedish author who has written seventeen books in several genres, including popular science, cartoon, children's and historical fiction. Her individual writing style, featuring depth of insight, and sense of surprise and humour, gives her books a special appeal. So much so that in 1999 she won the prestigious Widding Prize as the best writer of popular history and historical novels. Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg is a former journalist and marine archaeologist. She now works full-time as an author. To find out more about Catherina, please visit: www.catharinaingelman-sundberg.com

Review quote

A quirky, offbeat delight and a heart-warming reminder that one is never too old for some mischief and adventure -- Tom Winter, author of Lost & Found A good-natured, humorous crime caper Independent on Sunday A good-natured, humorous crime caper Independent on Sunday A quirky, offbeat delight and a heart-warming reminder that one is never too old for some mischief and adventure -- Tom Winter, author of Lost & Found 'A shining expression of how joyous life is. It is not dangerous to grow old if you are like Martha and the gang' Hyllan, blogg 'The funniest book this year!' Magazine Familjen, Norway 'A book which should be read by people of all ages' Radio P4 'A hilarious farce ... highly entertaining with very well crafted characters' Frettabladid newspaper, Iceland 'It has humour, brilliant dialogue, irony and warmth. A light-hearted and enjoyable detective comedy with breath-taking events, which provide many smiles but also reflection on life' PRO Pensionaren 'Criminally fun!' Bonniers Bokklubb 'Very imaginative, fun and filled with gallons of humour!' Katarina Mazetti