The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit

The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit

CD-Audio

By (author) Michael Cannell, Read by Fred Stella

$23.96
List price $32.94
You save $8.98 27% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $12.26
  • Publisher: Highbridge Company
  • Format: CD-Audio
  • Dimensions: 131mm x 150mm x 23mm | 231g
  • Publication date: 7 November 2011
  • ISBN 10: 161174623X
  • ISBN 13: 9781611746235
  • Edition: Unabridged
  • Edition statement: Unabridged
  • Sales rank: 1,830,609

Product description

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of "Seabiscuit" and "The Right Stuff," Cannell's high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars. Written with the pacing of a novel, "The Limit" pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. "The Limit" captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Review quote

"Fred Stella's worldly sensibilities and ease with European languages bring Old World nostalgia to the traditions and culture that make this story so rewarding." --"AudioFile"