Lasting Damage

Lasting Damage

By (author)


You save US$7.93

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to United States by Christmas Expected delivery to United States by Christmas

The unnervingly good sixth psychological thriller from bestselling crime writer Sophie Hannah, not to be missed for readers of Nicci French and Liane Moriarty. 'Jaw-droppingly assured' Daily Express 'A first-class whodunnit' Scotsman Don't go into the other woman's house...It's 1.15 a.m. Connie Bowskill should be asleep. Instead, she's logging on to a property website in search of a particular house: 11 Bentley Grove, Cambridge. She knows it's for sale; she saw the estate agent's board in the front garden less than six hours ago. Soon Connie is clicking on the 'Virtual Tour' button, keen to see the inside of 11 Bentley Grove and put her mind at rest once and for all. She finds herself looking at a scene from a nightmare: in the living room, in the middle of the carpet, there's a woman lying face down in a huge pool of blood. In shock, Connie wakes her husband Kit. But when Kit sits down at the computer to take a look, he sees no dead body, only a pristine beige carpet in a perfectly ordinary room ...

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 30mm | 299.37g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • maps
  • 0340980680
  • 9780340980682
  • 75,515

Other books in Crime

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

An assured psychological thriller of murderous domestic deceit. Financial Times A beautifully written and entirely gripping take from beginning to end. Heat As addictively creepy as her previous thrillers Independent on Sunday A writer of prodigious talent ... This is a jaw-droppingly assured book which sometimes feels as if there's a plot twist on every page. Daily Express '[An] assured psychological thriller of murderous domestic deceit.' Financial Times Sophie Hannah scores on all counts ... Confidence oozes from every taut chapter Scotsman 'Hannah has a canny knack of insinuating threat into apparently benign domesticity and she does a nice line in offbeat characters' Daily Mail 'We're huge fans of Sophie Hannah's psychological thrillers ... [LASTING DAMAGE is] one of her very best. Whether crime thrillers are your usual cup of tea or not, expect a beautifully written and entirely gripping tale from beginning to end.' Heat 'An edge-of-your-seat psychological crime thriller ... The twists just keep coming. You will be kept on your toes from start to finish.' Essentials 'Hannah creates a complex plot that grafts lurid motifs of insanity on to a solid police-procedural template. Her main strength, however, is her characterisation' Irish Times Praise for Sophie Hannah : Hannah takes domestic scenarios, adds disquieting touches and turns up the suspense until you're checking under the bed for murders Independent It's a given that nothing will be as it seems in the latest psychological thriller from Sophie Hannah, who marries complex plots with crisp, conversational prose Marie Claire As Hannah sees it things are rarely clear cut and it is this moral ambivalence that makes her fiction so provocative Daily Express Hannah's latest psychological thriller combines quirky police procedural with shrewdly observed domestic deceit. Told with confidence and panache, Hannah challenges the reader to work out who the paranoiac of the piece really is. Independent

show more

About Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is a bestselling crime fiction writer and poet. Her psychological thrillers Little Face, Hurting Distance, The Point of Rescue, The Other Half Lives, A Room Swept White, Lasting Damage, Kind of Cruel, The Carrier and The Telling Error have received critical acclaim and have been translated into more than twenty languages. Sophie is also the author of The Monogram Murders, the first Hercule Poirot mystery to be written and published since Agatha Christie's death and approved by her estate. The Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Novel of the Year 2013 and Sophie's books have been listed for multiple other industry awards. Little Face was longlisted for the 2007 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and the IMPAC Award, Hurting Distance was longlisted for the 2008 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, and The Other Half Lives was shortlisted for the Independent Booksellers' Book of the Year Award and a Barry Award. The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie's fifth collection of poetry, Pessimism for Beginners, was the Poetry Book Society's Winter Choice in 2007 and was shortlisted for the TS Eliot Award, and in 2004 she won first prize in the Daphne du Maurier Festival Short Story Competition for her psychological suspense story 'The Octopus Nest'. Sophie's poetry is studied at GCSE, A-level and degree level across the UK. From 1997 to 1999 she was Fellow Commoner in Creative Arts at Trinity College, Cambridge, and between 1999 and 2001 she was a fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford. She is currently a Fellow Commoner at Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband and two children. Visit Sophie's website,, follow her on Twitter at, and find her on Facebook at

show more