• The Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Great Age of Polar Exploration See large image

    The Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Great Age of Polar Exploration (Paperback) By (author) Simon Nasht

    $12.51 - Save $2.44 16% off - RRP $14.95 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionIn the tradition of "The Ice Master and Endurance," here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery. Hubert Wilkins was the most successful explorer in history--no one saw with his own eyes more undiscovered land and sea. Largely self-taught, Wilkins became a celebrated newsreel cameraman in the early 1900s, as well as a reporter, pilot, spy, war hero, scientist, and adventurer, capturing in his lens war and famine, cheating death repeatedly, meeting world leaders like Lenin and Stalin, and circling the globe on a zeppelin. Apprenticing with the greats of polar exploration, including Shackleton in the Antarctic, Wilkins recognized the importance of new technologies such as the airplane and submarine. He helped map the Canadian Arctic and plumbed the ocean depths from the icecap. A pioneer in the truest sense of the word, he became the first man to fly across the North Pole, which won him a knighthood; the first to fly to the Antarctic and discover land there by airplane; and the first to take a submarine under the Arctic ice. Grasping the link between the poles and changing global weather, Wilkins was a visionary in weather forecasting and the study of global warming. A true hero of the earth, he changed the way we look at our world.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Last Explorer

    Title
    The Last Explorer
    Subtitle
    Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Great Age of Polar Exploration
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Simon Nasht
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 346
    Width: 152 mm
    Height: 226 mm
    Thickness: 30 mm
    Weight: 431 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781616087173
    ISBN 10: 161608717X
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: BIO
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T4.0
    BIC subject category V2: BG, RGR
    B&T General Subject: 170
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 03
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    Ingram Subject Code: BA
    Libri: I-BA
    DC22: B, 910.92
    DC21: 910.92
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 26630
    B&T Approval Code: A19200000
    BISAC V2.8: BIO023000
    Ingram Theme: CULT/ARCTIC
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: A4
    LC subject heading: ,
    LC classification: G585.W55 N37 2012
    Edition statement
    Reprint
    Illustrations note
    black & white illustrations, maps
    Publisher
    Skyhorse Publishing
    Imprint name
    Skyhorse Publishing
    Publication date
    01 August 2012