Christmas Posting Dates
The Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Great Age of Polar Exploration

The Last Explorer: Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Great Age of Polar Exploration

Paperback

By (author) Simon Nasht

$12.56
List price $14.95
You save $2.39 15% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
  • Format: Paperback | 346 pages
  • Dimensions: 152mm x 226mm x 30mm | 454g
  • Publication date: 1 August 2012
  • ISBN 10: 161608717X
  • ISBN 13: 9781616087173
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations, maps
  • Sales rank: 40,374

Product description

In the tradition of "The Ice Master and Endurance," here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery. Hubert Wilkins was the most successful explorer in history--no one saw with his own eyes more undiscovered land and sea. Largely self-taught, Wilkins became a celebrated newsreel cameraman in the early 1900s, as well as a reporter, pilot, spy, war hero, scientist, and adventurer, capturing in his lens war and famine, cheating death repeatedly, meeting world leaders like Lenin and Stalin, and circling the globe on a zeppelin. Apprenticing with the greats of polar exploration, including Shackleton in the Antarctic, Wilkins recognized the importance of new technologies such as the airplane and submarine. He helped map the Canadian Arctic and plumbed the ocean depths from the icecap. A pioneer in the truest sense of the word, he became the first man to fly across the North Pole, which won him a knighthood; the first to fly to the Antarctic and discover land there by airplane; and the first to take a submarine under the Arctic ice. Grasping the link between the poles and changing global weather, Wilkins was a visionary in weather forecasting and the study of global warming. A true hero of the earth, he changed the way we look at our world.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11