The Last Day

The Last Day : Wrath, Ruin, and Reason in the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755

By (author) Nicholas Shrady , Narrator Patrick Lawlor

List price: US$23.88

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

A riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe. Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days. In "The Last Day," Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and God's place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause celebre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. "The Last Day" is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester's "Krakatoa" and "A Crack in the Edge of the World.""

show more
  • CD-Audio
  • 139.7 x 165.1 x 27.94mm | 181.44g
  • 07 Apr 2008
  • Tantor Media, Inc
  • Old Saybrook, CT
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 1400106400
  • 9781400106400

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Nicholas Shrady is a journalist and the author of "Tilt: A Skewed History of the Tower of Pisa." An "AudioFile" Earphones Award winner and Audie Award finalist, Patrick Lawlor is also an accomplished stage actor.

show more

Review quote

"An elegant, pertinent study." ---Kirkus

show more