• The Last Day: Wrath, Ruin, and Reason in the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 See large image

    The Last Day: Wrath, Ruin, and Reason in the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 (CD-Audio) By (author) Nicholas Shrady, Narrator Patrick Lawlor

    $23.69 - Save $1.32 (5%) - RRP $25.01 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $14.02

    DescriptionA riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe. Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days. In "The Last Day," Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and God's place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause celebre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. "The Last Day" is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester's "Krakatoa" and "A Crack in the Edge of the World."


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Last Day

    Title
    The Last Day
    Subtitle
    Wrath, Ruin, and Reason in the Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Nicholas Shrady, Narrator Patrick Lawlor
    Physical properties
    Format: CD-Audio
    Width: 140 mm
    Height: 165 mm
    Thickness: 28 mm
    Weight: 181 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781400106400
    ISBN 10: 1400106400
    Classifications

    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC subject category V2: HBLL
    BIC E4L: HIS
    B&T Merchandise Category: AUD
    BIC time period qualifier V2: 3JF
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T5.0
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Theme: CHRN/18CNTY
    B&T General Subject: 431
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: HIS045000, HIS037050
    Ingram Subject Code: JV
    Libri: I-JV
    BISAC V2.8: NAT009000
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 55560
    DC22: 946.942033
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: ET170
    Ingram Theme: CULT/PORTUG
    DC21: 946.942033
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 946.9/42033
    LC classification: DP762 .S57 2008C
    LC subject heading:
    Thema V1.0: WNW, N
    Edition
    Unabridged
    Edition statement
    Unabridged
    Publisher
    Tantor Media, Inc
    Imprint name
    Tantor Media, Inc
    Publication date
    07 April 2008
    Publication City/Country
    Old Saybrook, CT
    Author Information
    Nicholas Shrady is a journalist and the author of "Tilt: A Skewed History of the Tower of Pisa." An "AudioFile" Earphones Award winner and Audie Award finalist, Patrick Lawlor is also an accomplished stage actor.
    Review quote
    ""An elegant, pertinent study."" ---Kirkus