• Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy See large image

    Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy (Paperback) By (author) Flora Thompson, Introduction by H. J. Massingham, Introduction by Richard Mabey

    $13.17 - Save $3.94 23% off - RRP $17.11 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionFlora Thompson's immortal trilogy, containing "Lark Rise", "Over To Candleford" and "Candleford Green", is a heartwarming portrayal of country life at the close of the 19th century. This story of three closely related Oxfordshire communities - a hamlet, the nearby village and a small market town - is based on the author's experiences during childhood and youth. It chronicles May Day celebrations and forgotten children's games, the daily lives of farmworkers and craftsmen, friends and relations - all painted with a gaiety and freshness of observation that make this trilogy an evocative and sensitive memorial to Victorian rural England. It comes with a new introduction by Richard Mabey.

Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10


Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Lark Rise to Candleford

    Lark Rise to Candleford
    A Trilogy
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Flora Thompson, Introduction by H. J. Massingham, Introduction by Richard Mabey
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 544
    Width: 129 mm
    Height: 198 mm
    Thickness: 23 mm
    Weight: 372 g
    ISBN 13: 9780141183312
    ISBN 10: 0141183314

    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    LC subject heading:
    BIC E4L: CLA
    BIC subject category V2: FC
    DC22: FIC
    LC subject heading: , , ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC004000
    Libri: B-092
    Ingram Subject Code: FH
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 14280
    DC21: 942.57081092
    BISAC V2.8: FIC014000, FIC019000
    Penguin Books Ltd
    Imprint name
    Publication date
    25 May 2000
    Publication City/Country
    Author Information
    Born in Juniper Hill, Oxfordshire, Flora Thompson left school at 14 to work in the local post office. She married young, and wrote mass-market fiction to help support her increasing family. In her 60s she published the semi-autobiographical trilogy combined as LARK RISE TO CANDLEFORD (1945). RICHARD MABEY is the author of some thirty books, including Whistling in the Dark: In Pursuit of the Nightingale, Beechcombings: the narratives of Trees, the ground-breaking and best-selling "cultural flora" Flora Britannica, and Gilbert White, which won the Whitbread Biography Award. His recent memoir Nature Cure was short-listed for three major literary awards. He writes for the Independent, the Guardian, Resurgence and Granta, and contributes frequently to BBC radio. He lives in Norfolk, in the Waveney Valley.