Kierkegaard's Writings: v. 4

Kierkegaard's Writings: v. 4

Paperback Kierkegaard's Writings (Paperback) Language: Danish / English

By (author) Sören Kierkegaard, Edited by Howard V. Hong, Edited by Edna H. Hong

List price $43.61
You save $12.06 27% off

Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Princeton University Press
  • Format: Paperback | 536 pages
  • Language: Danish / English
  • Dimensions: 138mm x 212mm x 34mm | 599g
  • Publication date: 21 January 1988
  • Publication City/Country: New Jersey
  • ISBN 10: 0691020426
  • ISBN 13: 9780691020426
  • Edition statement: Revised ed.
  • Sales rank: 238,215

Product description

Sren Kierkegaard, the nineteenth-century Danish philosopher rediscovered in the twentieth century, is a major influence in contemporary philosophy, religion, and literature. He regarded Either/Or as the beginning of his authorship, although he had published two earlier works on Hans Christian Andersen and irony. The pseudonymous volumes of Either/Or are the writings of a young man (I) and of Judge William (II). The ironical young man's papers include a collection of sardonic aphorisms; essays on Mozart, modern drama, and boredom; and "The Seducer's Diary." The seeming miscellany is a reflective presentation of aspects of the "either," the esthetic view of life. Part II is an older friend's "or," the ethical life of integrated, authentic personhood, elaborated in discussions of personal becoming and of marriage. The resolution of the "either/or" is left to the reader, for there is no Part III until the appearance of Stages on Life's Way. The poetic-reflective creations of a master stylist and imaginative impersonator, the two men write in distinctive ways appropriate to their respective positions.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Review quote

"The definitive edition of the Writings. The first volume ... indicates the scholarly value of the entire series: an introduction setting the work in the context of Kierkegaard's development; a remarkably clear translation; and concluding sections of intelligent notes."--Library Journal