Kalimpura

Kalimpura

By (author) Jay Lake

US$27.70US$29.28

You save US$1.58

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Green is hounded by the gods of Copper Downs and the gods of Kalimpura, who have laid claim to her and her children. She never wanted to be a conduit for the supernatural, but when she killed the Immortal Duke and created the Ox god with the power she released, she came to their notice. Now she has sworn to retrieve the two girls taken hostage by the Bittern Court, one of Kalimpura's rival guilds. But the Temple of the Lily Goddess is playing politics with her life.

show more
  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 154.94 x 236.22 x 30.48mm | 476.27g
  • 11 Feb 2013
  • Tor Books
  • New York
  • English
  • 0765326779
  • 9780765326775
  • 624,729

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

JAY LAKE was a prolific writer of science fiction and fantasy, as well as an award-winning editor, a popular raconteur and toastmaster, and an excellent teacher at the many writers' workshops he attended. His novels included Tor's publications "Mainspring," "Escapement," and "Pinion," and the trilogy of novels in his Green cycle - "Green," "Endurance" and "Kalimpura." Lake was nominated multiple times for the Hugo Award, the Nebula Award, and the World Fantasy Award. He won the John W. Campbell Award for best new writer in 2004, the year after his first professional stories were published. In 2008 Jay Lake was diagnosed with colon cancer, and in the years after he became known outside the sf genre as a powerful and brutally honest blogger about the progression of his disease. Jay Lake died on June 1, 2014.

show more

Review quote

"Assassin and ex-courtesan Green has saved a city and birthed a god. Now she wants to move on--but she's hunted by enemies from her past, the city council is mired in a power struggle and can't provide much aid, and something is stalking goddesses, including the one Green serves. Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity.... This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville."--"Publishers Weekly", starred review on "Endurance"

show more