Christmas Posting Dates
Kalimpura

Kalimpura

Hardback

By (author) Jay Lake

$22.87
List price $29.75
You save $6.88 23% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $13.49
  • Publisher: Tor Books
  • Format: Hardback | 304 pages
  • Dimensions: 155mm x 236mm x 30mm | 476g
  • Publication date: 11 February 2013
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0765326779
  • ISBN 13: 9780765326775
  • Sales rank: 539,218

Product description

Green is hounded by the gods of Copper Downs and the gods of Kalimpura, who have laid claim to her and her children. She never wanted to be a conduit for the supernatural, but when she killed the Immortal Duke and created the Ox god with the power she released, she came to their notice. Now she has sworn to retrieve the two girls taken hostage by the Bittern Court, one of Kalimpura's rival guilds. But the Temple of the Lily Goddess is playing politics with her life.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

JAY LAKE was a prolific writer of science fiction and fantasy, as well as an award-winning editor, a popular raconteur and toastmaster, and an excellent teacher at the many writers' workshops he attended. His novels included Tor's publications "Mainspring," "Escapement," and "Pinion," and the trilogy of novels in his Green cycle - "Green," "Endurance" and "Kalimpura." Lake was nominated multiple times for the Hugo Award, the Nebula Award, and the World Fantasy Award. He won the John W. Campbell Award for best new writer in 2004, the year after his first professional stories were published. In 2008 Jay Lake was diagnosed with colon cancer, and in the years after he became known outside the sf genre as a powerful and brutally honest blogger about the progression of his disease. Jay Lake died on June 1, 2014.

Review quote

"Assassin and ex-courtesan Green has saved a city and birthed a god. Now she wants to move on--but she's hunted by enemies from her past, the city council is mired in a power struggle and can't provide much aid, and something is stalking goddesses, including the one Green serves. Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity.... This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville."--"Publishers Weekly", starred review on "Endurance"