• Invisible See large image

    Invisible (Random House Reader's Circle) (Paperback) By (author) Carla Buckley

    03

    $11.77 - Save $3.24 21% off - RRP $15.01 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionPerfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Carla Buckley's "Invisible" is a stunning novel of redemption, regret, and the complex ties of familial love. Growing up, Dana Carlson and her older sister, Julie, are inseparable--Dana the impulsive one, Julie calmer and more nurturing. But then a devastating secret compels Dana to flee from home, not to see or speak to her sister for sixteen years. When she receives the news that Julie is seriously ill, Dana knows that she must return to their hometown of Black Bear, Minnesota, to try and save her sister. Yet she arrives too late, only to discover that Black Bear has changed, and so have the people in it. Julie has left behind a shattered teenage daughter, Peyton, and a mystery--what killed Julie may be killing others, too. Why is no one talking about it? Dana struggles to uncover the truth, but no one wants to hear it, including Peyton, who can't forgive her aunt's years-long absence. Dana had left to protect her own secrets, but Black Bear has a secret of its own--one that could tear apart Dana's life, her family, and the whole town. "Beautifully written and unsettling . . . leaves you with a lingering sense of dread long after you close the last page."--Chevy Stevens Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Invisible

    Title
    Invisible
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Carla Buckley
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 392
    Width: 132 mm
    Height: 203 mm
    Thickness: 23 mm
    Weight: 295 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780440246053
    ISBN 10: 0440246059
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F2.5
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    BIC E4L: SAG
    BIC subject category V2: FH
    DC22: FIC
    LC subject heading: ,
    DC21: 813.6
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    BIC subject category V2: FT
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 21110
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: TP090
    Ingram Theme: SEXL/FEMINE
    Ingram Subject Code: FC
    Libri: I-FC
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 01
    DC22: 813/.6
    BISAC V2.8: FIC025000, FIC044000
    LC subject heading: ,
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 34
    B&T Approval Code: P26100000
    LC subject heading: ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC008000, FIC030000
    LC classification: PS3602.U2645 I68 2012
    Publisher
    Bantam
    Imprint name
    Bantam
    Publication date
    11 December 2012
    Publication City/Country
    New York, NY
    Author Information
    Carla Buckley lives in Chapel Hill, NC, with her husband, an environmental scientist, and their three children. She serves on the Board of the International Thriller Writers as Vice President of Awards, and is the international bestselling author of "Invisible" and "The Things That Keep Us Here," which was nominated for a Thriller Award as a best first novel and the Ohioana Book Award for fiction.
    Review quote
    "Beautifully written and unsettling . . . leaves you with a lingering sense of dread long after you close the last page."--Chevy Stevens "Family secrets, environmental crises, complex characters, and lyrical, thoughtful prose: What's not to love here? This richly layered story will remain with you well past the final page."--Emilie Richards, author of "One Mountain Away" "Carla Buckley once again reveals the frightening things we can't see. "Invisible" made me question everything surrounding us in our homes and our neighborhoods. Do we really know what we're touching? Do we even know our own families? This chilling book reminds us of what's important in our lives."--Randy Susan Meyers, author of "The Murderer's Daughters"