• Invisible See large image

    Invisible (Random House Reader's Circle) (Paperback) By (author) Carla Buckley

    03

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $11.17 - Save $3.83 25% off - RRP $15.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionPerfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Carla Buckley's "Invisible" is a stunning novel of redemption, regret, and the complex ties of familial love. Growing up, Dana Carlson and her older sister, Julie, are inseparable--Dana the impulsive one, Julie calmer and more nurturing. But then a devastating secret compels Dana to flee from home, not to see or speak to her sister for sixteen years. When she receives the news that Julie is seriously ill, Dana knows that she must return to their hometown of Black Bear, Minnesota, to try and save her sister. Yet she arrives too late, only to discover that Black Bear has changed, and so have the people in it. Julie has left behind a shattered teenage daughter, Peyton, and a mystery--what killed Julie may be killing others, too. Why is no one talking about it? Dana struggles to uncover the truth, but no one wants to hear it, including Peyton, who can't forgive her aunt's years-long absence. Dana had left to protect her own secrets, but Black Bear has a secret of its own--one that could tear apart Dana's life, her family, and the whole town. "Beautifully written and unsettling . . . leaves you with a lingering sense of dread long after you close the last page."--Chevy Stevens Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

Reviews for Invisible

Write a review
  • Confusing but Intriguing3

    Kelsey Opsahl Dana has avoided going home to Black Bear, MN for about 16 years. She must return now because her sister, Julie, has lost her battle with kidney disease. Julie has left behind her daughter, Peyton, and her alcoholic father. Dana finds Julie's diary that shows a connection between the local factory where half the town works and the kidney related illness happening in Black Bear. Dana also runs into her high school sweetheart and her secret is going to be harder and harder to keep if he continues to hang around.

    Invisible had me confused and intrigued throughout. The main plot line is what intrigued me with the link between nanotechnology and the health scares that the townspeople are having. What confused me were all the other plot lines that were trying to happen. Some were, I felt, unnecessary (such as Dana and her demolition business partner's issue) and others were just weak. The predictable secret that is eventually revealed didn't seem like something that would keep two sisters apart (not even talking on the phone). Dana seemed very selfish and I didn't understand the brother-in-law's hatred for her because he didn't know the secret so he shouldn't have felt threatened. All the characters felt one-dimensional and I as a reader didn't feel invested in them or the story.

    (Book provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review) by Kelsey Opsahl

Write a review
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results