• The Inventor's Secret See large image

    The Inventor's Secret (Hardback) By (author) Andrea R Cremer

    $15.64 - Save $3.34 17% off - RRP $18.98 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionNew from Andrea Cremer, the "New York Times "bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure. In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain's industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire's Machineworks."The Inventor's Secret" is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's "The Diviners," Cassandra Clare's "Clockwork Angel, "Scott Westerfeld's "Leviathan" and Phillip Reeve's "Mortal Engines." Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET * "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--"VOYA," starred review "[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--"Kirkus Reviews"


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Inventor's Secret

    Title
    The Inventor's Secret
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Andrea R Cremer
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 373
    Width: 145 mm
    Height: 211 mm
    Thickness: 36 mm
    Weight: 476 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780399159626
    ISBN 10: 0399159622
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: SCI, F13+
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: Y2.2
    DC22: FIC
    Ingram Theme: CHRN/19CNTY
    BISAC V2.8: JUV001000
    BIC subject category V2: YFC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 12500
    B&T Merchandise Category: JUV
    B&T General Subject: 217
    B&T Book Type: JF
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    BIC subject category V2: YFG
    LC subject heading: , ,
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 61
    Ingram Subject Code: CK
    Libri: I-CK
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Theme: GEOG/NEWYRK
    B&T Modifier: Continuations: 01
    B&T Approval Code: X11821000
    LC subject heading: ,
    B&T Approval Code: X18300000
    LC subject heading: , ,
    BISAC V2.8: JUV059000, JUV062000
    LC classification: PZ7.C86385 INM 2014
    Thema V1.0: YFG, YFC, YFE
    Publisher
    Philomel Books
    Imprint name
    Philomel Books
    Publication date
    22 April 2014
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    Andrea Cremer is the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series, which includes "Nightshade, Wolfsbane, Bloodrose, Snakeroot, Rift "and "Rise." She is also the author of "Invisibility, "which she co-wrote with David Levithan. When she's not writing novels, Andrea puts her Ph.D. to work teaching classes in writing and history at Macalester College. She lives in Minneapolis, MN. You can visit her online at www.AndreaCremer.com or follow her on Twitter @andreacremer.
    Review quote
    Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET: * "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--"VOYA" *STARRED* "[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--"Kirkus Reviews"