The Inventor's Secret

The Inventor's Secret

Hardback

By (author) Andrea R Cremer

$15.32
List price $19.00
You save $3.68 19% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Philomel Books
  • Format: Hardback | 373 pages
  • Dimensions: 144mm x 212mm x 38mm | 480g
  • Publication date: 22 April 2014
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0399159622
  • ISBN 13: 9780399159626
  • Sales rank: 191,538

Product description

New from Andrea Cremer, the "New York Times "bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure. In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain's industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire's Machineworks."The Inventor's Secret" is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's "The Diviners," Cassandra Clare's "Clockwork Angel, "Scott Westerfeld's "Leviathan" and Phillip Reeve's "Mortal Engines." Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET * "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--"VOYA," starred review "[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--"Kirkus Reviews"

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Andrea Cremer is the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series, which includes "Nightshade, Wolfsbane, Bloodrose, Snakeroot, Rift "and "Rise." She is also the author of "Invisibility, "which she co-wrote with David Levithan. When she's not writing novels, Andrea puts her Ph.D. to work teaching classes in writing and history at Macalester College. She lives in Minneapolis, MN. You can visit her online at www.AndreaCremer.com or follow her on Twitter @andreacremer.

Review quote

Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET: * "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--"VOYA" *STARRED* "[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--"Kirkus Reviews"