Introducing the Honorable Phryne Fisher: The First Three Phryne Fisher Mysteries

Introducing the Honorable Phryne Fisher: The First Three Phryne Fisher Mysteries

Paperback Phryne Fisher Mysteries (Paperback)

By (author) Kerry Greenwood

List price $24.95
You save $6.27 25% off

Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
  • Format: Paperback | 489 pages
  • Dimensions: 138mm x 214mm x 36mm | 399g
  • Publication date: 15 March 2012
  • ISBN 10: 1590589726
  • ISBN 13: 9781590589724
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations
  • Sales rank: 14,676

Product description

"This series is the best Australian import since Nicole Kidman, and Phryne is the flashiest new female sleuth in the genre." -Booklist starred review of Away with the Fairies Unflappable, unconventional, and uninhibited, the Honourable Phryne Fisher leaves the tedium of English high society for Melbourne, Australia, and never looks back. In her first three adventures, Phryne handles everything-danger, excitement, and love-with panache and flair, and still finds time for discreet dalliances and delicious diversions. In Cocaine Blues, the London season is in full fling at the end of the 1920s, but Phryne cannot face any more flower arranging, polite conversation with retired colonels or dancing with weak-chinned men. She decides it might be rather amusing to try her hand at being a lady detective in Melbourne, Australia. From the time she books into the Windsor Hotel, Phryne is immediately embroiled in exotic and erotic mystery. In Flying Too High, Phryne handles a murder, a kidnapping, and the usual array of beautiful young men who cluster around her with style and consummate ease-and all before it's time to adjourn to the Queenscliff Hotel for breakfast. Whether she's flying planes, clearing a friend of homicide charges or searching for a kidnapped child, she employs the same dash and elan with which she drives her beloved red Hispano-Suiza. In Murder on the Ballarat Train, the glamorous Phryne, accompanied by her loyal maid, Dot Williams, decides to travel to the country by train, but the last thing she expects is to have to use her trusty Beretta .32 to save their lives. Soon a restful country sojourn turns into the stuff of nightmares: a young girl who can't remember anything, rumours of vile white slavery and the body of an old woman missing her emerald rings. The prolific Kerry Greenwood won the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Crime Writers' Association of Australia in 2003. She has written 18 Phryne Fisher mysteries and six Corinna Chapman mysteries (so far), all available from Poisoned Pen Press.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Kerry Greenwood was born in the Melbourne suburb of Footscray and after wandering far and wide, she returned to live there. She has degrees in English and Law from Melbourne University and was admitted to the legal profession on the 1st April 1982, a day which she finds both soothing and significant. Kerry has written twenty novels, a number of plays, including "The Troubadours" with Stephen D'Arcy, is an award-winning children's writer and has edited and contributed to several anthologies. The Phryne Fisher series (pronounced Fry-knee, to rhyme with briny) began in 1989 with "Cocaine Blues" which was a great success. Kerry has written sixteen books in this series with no sign yet of Miss Fisher hanging up her pearl-handled pistol. Kerry says that as long as people want to read them, she can keep writing them. In 2003 Kerry Won the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Australian Association. A great value at only $24.95!