Christmas Posting Dates
The Immortal Crown: Age of X #2

The Immortal Crown: Age of X #2

Book rating: 05 Paperback

By (author) Richelle Mead

$10.61
List price $14.08
You save $3.47 24% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Format: Paperback | 416 pages
  • Dimensions: 129mm x 198mm x 25mm | 287g
  • Publication date: 5 June 2014
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1405913584
  • ISBN 13: 9781405913584
  • Sales rank: 6,030

Product description

The Immortal Crown is the second novel in the acclaimed Age of X series from New York Times bestselling author, Richelle Mead. Religious investigator Justin March and Mae Koskinen, the beautiful supersoldier assigned to protect him, have been charged with investigating reports of the supernatural and the return of the gods, both inside the Republic of United North America and out. With this highly classified knowledge comes a shocking revelation: not only are the gods vying for human control, but the elect-special humans marked by the divine-are turning against one another in bloody fashion. Their mission takes a new twist when they are assigned to a diplomatic delegation headed by Lucian Darling, Justin's old friend and rival, going into Arcadia, the RUNA's dangerous neighboring country. Here, in a society where women are commodities and religion is intertwined with government, Justin discovers powerful forces at work, even as he struggles to come to terms with his own reluctantly acquired deity. Meanwhile, Mae-grudgingly posing as Justin's concubine-has a secret mission of her own: finding the illegitimate niece her family smuggled away years ago. But with Justin and Mae resisting the resurgence of the gods in Arcadia, a reporter's connection with someone close to Justin back home threatens to expose their mission-and with it the divine forces the government is determined to keep secret. The Age of X is a new fantasy series from Richelle Mead, containing all the mythological intrigue and relentless action of her bestselling Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series. The Immortal Crown is the second novel in the series following Gameboard of the Gods. Fans of Chloe Neill and Jim Butcher should look this way. Praise for Richelle Mead: "The book is fast-paced and suspenseful". (Booklist). "An engaging read, with an unusually tangible, believable, living story world, featuring a protagonist of unexpected depth and sympathy". (Jim Butcher (on Succubus Blues) Richelle Mead, the New York Times bestselling author of Vampire Academy, lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband and baby). Gameboard of the Gods, the first in the Age of X series and Richelle's first adult novel, is also available from Penguin.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Richelle Mead, the New York Times bestselling author of Vampire Academy, lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband and baby. Gameboard of the Gods, the first book in the Age of X series, is also published by Penguin.

Customer reviews

By Chrissy 12 Jul 2014 5

Did I enjoy this book: Do you ever get to the end of a book thatâ??s so good you find youâ??ve forgotten how to say anything except, â??Holy Sh*tâ?? over and over again? Yeah. This is one of those books. Itâ??s better than the first one. Itâ??s better than sleep. Itâ??s better than the epic Nutella-banana-marshmallow fluff camper pie my brother-in-law made me last night. This is the first of Ms. Meadâ??s series that Iâ??ve read, but you can bet I just added a whole stack of her other books to my TBR pile. WOWZA. Sheâ??s good.

Would I recommend it: Itâ??s awesome. If my TBR list wasnâ??t quite so long, Iâ??d read it again immediately.

As reviewed by Melisa at Every Free Chance Books.

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Review quote

The book is fast-paced and suspenseful Booklist An engaging read, with an unusually tangible, believable, living story world, featuring a protagonist of unexpected depth and sympathy -- Jim Butcher (on Succubus Blues)