The Immortal Crown
24%
off

The Immortal Crown : Age of X #2

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

The Immortal Crown is the second novel in the acclaimed Age of X series from New York Times bestselling author, Richelle Mead. Religious investigator Justin March and Mae Koskinen, the beautiful supersoldier assigned to protect him, have been charged with investigating reports of the supernatural and the return of the gods, both inside the Republic of United North America and out. With this highly classified knowledge comes a shocking revelation: not only are the gods vying for human control, but the elect-special humans marked by the divine-are turning against one another in bloody fashion. Their mission takes a new twist when they are assigned to a diplomatic delegation headed by Lucian Darling, Justin's old friend and rival, going into Arcadia, the RUNA's dangerous neighboring country. Here, in a society where women are commodities and religion is intertwined with government, Justin discovers powerful forces at work, even as he struggles to come to terms with his own reluctantly acquired deity. Meanwhile, Mae-grudgingly posing as Justin's concubine-has a secret mission of her own: finding the illegitimate niece her family smuggled away years ago. But with Justin and Mae resisting the resurgence of the gods in Arcadia, a reporter's connection with someone close to Justin back home threatens to expose their mission-and with it the divine forces the government is determined to keep secret. The Age of X is a new fantasy series from Richelle Mead, containing all the mythological intrigue and relentless action of her bestselling Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series. The Immortal Crown is the second novel in the series following Gameboard of the Gods. Fans of Chloe Neill and Jim Butcher should look this way. Praise for Richelle Mead: "The book is fast-paced and suspenseful". (Booklist). "An engaging read, with an unusually tangible, believable, living story world, featuring a protagonist of unexpected depth and sympathy". (Jim Butcher (on Succubus Blues) Richelle Mead, the New York Times bestselling author of Vampire Academy, lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband and baby). Gameboard of the Gods, the first in the Age of X series and Richelle's first adult novel, is also available from Penguin.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 132 x 198 x 27mm | 300g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1405913584
  • 9781405913584
  • 29,287

About Richelle Mead

Richelle Mead, the New York Times bestselling author of Vampire Academy, lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband and baby. Gameboard of the Gods, the first book in the Age of X series, is also published by Penguin.show more

Review quote

The book is fast-paced and suspenseful Booklist An engaging read, with an unusually tangible, believable, living story world, featuring a protagonist of unexpected depth and sympathy -- Jim Butcher (on Succubus Blues)show more

Customer reviews

Did I enjoy this book: Do you ever get to the end of a book thatâ??s so good you find youâ??ve forgotten how to say anything except, â??Holy Sh*tâ?? over and over again? Yeah. This is one of those books. Itâ??s better than the first one. Itâ??s better than sleep. Itâ??s better than the epic Nutella-banana-marshmallow fluff camper pie my brother-in-law made me last night. This is the first of Ms. Meadâ??s series that Iâ??ve read, but you can bet I just added a whole stack of her other books to my TBR pile. WOWZA. Sheâ??s good. Would I recommend it: Itâ??s awesome. If my TBR list wasnâ??t quite so long, Iâ??d read it again immediately. As reviewed by Melisa at Every Free Chance Books. Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.show more
by Chrissy