Hurting Distance: Culver Valley Crime Book 2
41%
off

Hurting Distance: Culver Valley Crime Book 2

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

The second stunning thriller from queen of psychological crime, Sophie Hannah, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty. 'Superbly creepy' Guardian 'Rivetingly original' Sunday Times Sometimes love must kill before it can die. Three years ago, something terrible happened to Naomi Jenkins - so terrible that she never told anybody. Now Naomi has another secret - the man she has fallen passionately in love with, unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without trace, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing. In desperation, Naomi has a crazy idea. If she can't persuade the police that Robert is in danger, perhaps she can convince them that he is a danger to others. Then they will have to look for him - urgently. Naomi knows how to describe in detail the actions of a psychopath. All she needs to do is dig up her own troubled past ...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 28mm | 281.23g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • n/a
  • 034084034X
  • 9780340840344
  • 55,556

Review quote

A superbly creepy, twisty thriller about obsessive love, psychological torture, and the darkest chambers of the human heart The Times Hair-raising psychological thriller SHE The plots are brilliant - I couldn't see through this one at all. Guardian An utterly gripping plot, this is the standout thriller of the year. Read of the Year, Elle 'This is a far better-written book than any genre label might suggest. Hannah is a respected poet and uses the fascinating motif of the sundial not only to provide the reader with clues but to underline perceptions of life, time and death. It's also significant that she won a Daphne du Maurier award. Her powerful subjects of obsession with the past, and fear in the present, testify that she has made a transition to the narrative world of that iconic writer.' Independent Here's a psychological thriller that gets its hooks into you and refuses to let go. The Sunday Times 'Sophie Hannah's LITTLE FACE startled the British thriller market a year ago, and her new book is another superbly creepy foray in the genre. The plots are brilliant - I couldn't see through this one at all.' Guardian 'Poet and children's writer Sophie Hannah is proving to be equally adept at turning her hand to pscyhological thrillers. In HURTING DISTANCE, Naomi's concern for her married lover's well-being grows when his wife insists he is fine, just away. Naomi uses the story of a rape from her past to get the police to sit up and take notice. What makes this novel work so well is that more than one character has a bit of a screw loose - even the detectives on the case are grappling with some crippling personal issues - and it takes the full ride of the novel to find out who is playing whom.' Time Out 'The hurting distance in a relationship is apparently like an elastic band around your wrist that's being pulled tighter and tighter. You know it could snap at some point, but it's a question of when. The further it goes, the more painful it is when it breaks, like most relationships seem to in Hurting Distance. This story is thrilling from the first page... This book is not simply a whodunnit. The snappy, witty dialogue and clarity make it a thoroughly entertaining read. I thought I had the whole book pegged after the first chapter, but how wrong I was. Pick it up, but be warned, you won't put it down.' Birmingham Post 'Sophie Hannah's LITTLE FACE startled the British thriller market a year ago, and her new book is another superbly creepy foray in the genre. Her plots are brilliant - I couldn't see through this one at all.' Guardian 'Hannah's second novel is a beautifully written chiller-thriller about the after-effect of rape. It grips from start to finish - a grip which held me against my will because the sustained atmosphere of mild hysteria is hard to take ... I couldn't put it down' Literary Review 'This is a far better-written book than any genre label might suggest. Hannah is a respected poet and uses the fascinating motif of the sundial not only to provide the reader with clues but to underline perceptions of life, time and death. It's also significant that she won a Daphne du Maurier award. Her powerful subjects of obsession with the past, and fear in the present, testify that she has made a transition to the narrative world of that iconic writer.' Independent 'Another success for this inventive writer.' Sunday Telegraph 'A superbly creepy, twisty thriller about obsessive love, psychological torture, and the darkest chambers of the human heart.' The Times 'Poet and children's writer Sophie Hannah is proving to be equally adept at turning her hand to pscyhological thrillers. In HURTING DISTANCE, Naomi's concern for her married lover's well-being grows when his wife insists he is fine, just away. Naomi uses the story of a rape from her past to get the police to sit up and take notice. What makes this novel work so well is that more than one character has a bit of a screw loose - even the detectives on the case are grappling with some crippling personal issues - and it takes the full ride of the novel to find out who is playing whom.' Time Out 'Hannah's second novel is a beautifully written chiller-thriller about the after-effect of rape. It grips from start to finish - a grip which held me against my will because the sustained atmosphere of mild hysteria is hard to take ... I couldn't put it down' Literary Review 'Another success for this inventive writer.' Sunday Telegraph 'The terror created by Hannah will continue to lurk on the edges of your sub-conscious long after you've put this book down' The News of the World 'The terror created by Hannah will continue to lurk on the edges of your sub-conscious long after you've put this book down' News of the World 'I have been devouring poet and novelist Sophie Hannah's psychological thriller LITTLE FACE. I can't remember when I was more intrigued by the premise of a book... I read this book greedily, longing to know why anyone would swap a baby ... The tension ratchets up throughout the book; the scenes of David's increasingly vile psychological torture of Alice are particularly gripping ... A toothsome read; I'm eager to get my hands on the next one' Naomi Alderman, The Bookseller 'A superbly creepy, twisty thriller about obsessive love, psychological torture, and the darkest chambers of the human heart.'show more

About Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is a bestselling crime fiction writer and poet. Her psychological thrillers Little Face, Hurting Distance, The Point of Rescue, The Other Half Lives, A Room Swept White, Lasting Damage, Kind of Cruel, The Carrier and The Telling Error have received critical acclaim and have been translated into more than twenty languages. Sophie is also the author of The Monogram Murders, the first Hercule Poirot mystery to be written and published since Agatha Christie's death and approved by her estate. The Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Novel of the Year 2013 and Sophie's books have been listed for multiple other industry awards. Little Face was longlisted for the 2007 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and the IMPAC Award, Hurting Distance was longlisted for the 2008 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, and The Other Half Lives was shortlisted for the Independent Booksellers' Book of the Year Award and a Barry Award. The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie's fifth collection of poetry, Pessimism for Beginners, was the Poetry Book Society's Winter Choice in 2007 and was shortlisted for the TS Eliot Award, and in 2004 she won first prize in the Daphne du Maurier Festival Short Story Competition for her psychological suspense story 'The Octopus Nest'. Sophie's poetry is studied at GCSE, A-level and degree level across the UK. From 1997 to 1999 she was Fellow Commoner in Creative Arts at Trinity College, Cambridge, and between 1999 and 2001 she was a fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford. She is currently a Fellow Commoner at Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband and two children. Visit Sophie's website, www.sophiehannah.com, follow her on Twitter at twitter.com/sophiehannahCB1, and find her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sophiehannahauthor.show more