• How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog See large image

    How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog (Basic Books) (Paperback) By (author) Chad Orzel

    $12.84 - Save $6.52 33% off - RRP $19.36 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionThey say you can't teach an old dog new tricks. But what about relativity? Physics professor Chad Orzel and his inquisitive canine companion, Emmy, tackle the concepts of general relativity in this irresistible introduction to Einstein's physics. Through armchair-and sometimes passenger-seat-conversations with Emmy about the relative speeds of dog and cat motion or the logistics of squirrel-chasing, Orzel translates complex Einsteinian ideas-the slowing of time for a moving observer, the shrinking of moving objects, the effects of gravity on light and time, black holes, the Big Bang, and of course, E=mc2-into examples simple enough for a dog to understand. A lively romp through one of the great theories of modern physics, How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog will teach you everything you ever wanted to know about space, time, and anything else you might have slept through in high school physics class.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog

    Title
    How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Chad Orzel
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 272
    Width: 140 mm
    Height: 206 mm
    Thickness: 25 mm
    Weight: 363 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780465023318
    ISBN 10: 0465023312
    Classifications

    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T8.0
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: SCP
    BIC subject category V2: PDZ
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Subject Code: SE
    B&T Merchandise Category: SCI
    B&T General Subject: 710
    Libri: ENGM4560
    B&T Approval Code: A53203000
    BISAC V2.8: SCI055000
    B&T Approval Code: A53010000
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 26470
    BISAC V2.8: SCI061000
    BIC subject category V2: PHR
    DC22: 530.11
    LC subject heading: ,
    Libri: PHYS1035, QUAN5900
    LC subject heading:
    DC23: 530.11
    LC classification: QC173.57 .O79 2012
    LC subject heading:
    Thema V1.0: PDZ, PHR
    Illustrations note
    b/w illustrations throughout
    Publisher
    The Perseus Books Group
    Imprint name
    BASIC BOOKS
    Publication date
    15 March 2012
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    Chad Orzel received his BA in physics from Williams College, his Ph.D. in chemical physics from the University of Maryland, and his postdoctorate from Yale University. He maintains a regular blog, Uncertain Principles, and is author of How to Teach Physics to Your Dog. He is currently a professor at Union College in Schenectady, New York. He lives near campus with his wife, their daughter, and, of course, Emmy.
    Review quote
    Steve Nadis, coauthor of The Shape of Inner Space "Emmy may be one smart dog, but her owner also happens to be an uncommonly gifted communicator. Chad Orzel's treatment of special and general relativity is comprehensive, informative, and amazingly accessible, yet it's funny too. This is, by far, the most entertaining discussion of the subject that I've ever had the pleasure of reading." Frank Close, author of The Infinity Puzzle "With Nero, the egocentric cat who believes it is the centre of the universe, and Emmy, the student dog whose questions and misunderstandings would drive any teacher to distraction, and whose interest in relativity is how E=mc^2 can turn squirrels into energy, Chad Orzel has created a delightful cast of characters to make his introduction to relativity relatively painless. A cleverly crafted and beautifully explained narrative that guides readers carefully into the depths of relativity. Whether you are a hare or a tortoise, or even a dog, you will enjoy this." Louisa Gilder, author of The Age of Entanglement"For the price of a book, Orzel delivers the heady, joyful experience of taking a small college class with a brilliant and funny professor who really knows how to teach. A thoroughly winning romp through a rock-solid presentation of a beautiful subject." James Kakalios, Professor of Physics, University of Minnesota, and author of The Physics of Superheroes and The Amazing Story of Quantum Mechanics"Move over, Krypto-there's a new superdog in town! Chad Orzel's dog Emmy, having mastered quantum physics, now helps us understand Einstein's theories of relativity in a deep and accessible way. Get this dog a cape!" Jennifer Ouellette, author of The Calculus Diaries "Everyone's favorite physics-loving canine is back, this time giving us a dog's eye view of Einstein and relativity. Physics professor Chad Orzel leads Emmy (and us) through an engaging tour of light speed, time dilation, and amazing shrinking bunnies (length contraction)-not to mention what all this means for the search for the elusive 'bacon boson.'" Sean Carroll, author of From Eternity to Here"Dogs are a practical species. They aren't interested in speculation and conjecture; they like food, walks, and proven physics like Einstein's relativity. If you really want to further your dog's education (and learn something yourself in the process), Chad Orzel's book is the first place you should turn." Publishers Weekly "[A] compact and instructive walk through Einstein's theory of relativity... [T]he prose is breezy and straightforward, and the material well organized... Relativity constantly amazes, and the glimpses of understanding provide rewarding and satisfying moments." Kirkus Reviews "Unlike quantum physics, which remains bizarre even to experts, much of relativity makes sense. Thus, Einstein's special relativity merely states that the laws of physics and the speed of light are identical for all observers in smooth motion. This sounds trivial but leads to weird if delightfully comprehensible phenomena, provided someone like Orzel delivers a clear explanation of why." Science News "A clever introduction to the often intimidating concepts of special and general relativity, couched as a series of conversations between the author and his dog, Emmy. It may sound like a strange setup, but the somewhat kooky concept works well for explaining a field of physics that can sound, well, kooky to the uninitiated... While keeping the math to a minimum, Orzel provides a clear and thorough primer. It might take some practice to start equating subatomic particles to running bunnies, but the reader will find that puzzling through the details is worth the effort." Booklist "With canine humor and math- or physics-related jokes, Orzel keeps readers interested, while teaching the elements of physics that we promptly forgot after we took the test." Library Journal "Readers who enjoy Michio Kaku, Brian Greene, or Neil deGrasse Tyson will love this book. Full of quotes, math jokes, and silly canines, the book strives to make its audience amazed by, not frightened of, physics. With exuberant Emmy at the lead, readers can't help but be dragged (willingly!) toward a better understanding of special and general relativity." Washington Post "Rather than barking or growling, Emmy leavens the mood with requests for walks; and when the academics get heavy, she interjects to beg for clarification. Obviously, real-life dogs will not walk away from the book with a grasp of the universe's mechanics, but the human sort of non-scientist can get some benefit." Nature Physics "[E]ngaging and readable for a general audience... I suggest people who baulk at the idea of a talking dog but are nevertheless interested in the broad sweep of one of the two great theories of the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries should give this book a chance. After all, every dog has its day." BBC Focus "Amusing and engaging... It's informal and has a lightness of touch that can be reassuring when trying to get your head around some big concepts." New York Times "Witty and clear-thinking... Professor Orzel, who teaches physics at Union College and runs the blog Uncertain Principles, is turning his own dog, Emmy, into something of a franchise...succinct and entertaining ... bravo to both man and dog."