• How Fiction Works See large image

    How Fiction Works (Vintage Books) (Paperback) By (author) James Wood

    $10.56 - Save $3.91 27% off - RRP $14.47 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionIn the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for How Fiction Works

    Title
    How Fiction Works
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) James Wood
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 208
    Width: 128 mm
    Height: 196 mm
    Thickness: 16 mm
    Weight: 141 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781845950934
    ISBN 10: 1845950933
    Classifications

    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 25710
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T18.5
    BIC subject category V2: DSK
    BIC E4L: LIT
    Libri: ENGM1810
    DC22: 809.3
    BISAC V2.8: LAN005000
    Libri: P0042092, ROMA2400
    Publisher
    VINTAGE
    Imprint name
    VINTAGE
    Publication date
    05 February 2009
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    JAMES WOOD is a staff writer at The New Yorker and a visiting lecturer at Harvard. In addition to How Fiction Works, he is the author of two essay collections, The Broken Estate and The Irresponsible Self, a novel, The Book Against God.
    Review quote
    "This compelling essay shows just how deeply, sensitively, imaginatively and joyfully he reads" Scotland on Sunday "There aren't many book reviewers whose leaving one magazine to go to work for another would make the headlines. But then there aren't many book reviewers like James Wood" Sunday Telegraph "Luminous... full of top-notch observations from the coal-face" -- D.J. Taylor Independent on Sunday "Enchanting... Witty, concise, and composed with a lovely lightness of touch" Economist "Exceptionally illuminating... brilliantly acute and enticingly widely read work. It should be compulsory reading for anyone in the reviewing trade and committed to memory before aspiring writers put pen to paper. For those who intend to pursue the underrated calling of reading fiction without wishing to add to its ranks, it will not only make reading more pleasurable, but articulate what you may have felt but never been able to express" -- Rosemary Goring Herald