How Fiction Works

How Fiction Works

Paperback Picador

By (author) James Wood

USD$12.71
List price $16.00
You save $3.29 20% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: St Martin's Press
  • Format: Paperback | 265 pages
  • Dimensions: 117mm x 180mm x 25mm | 249g
  • Publication date: 21 July 2009
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0312428472
  • ISBN 13: 9780312428471
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Sales rank: 40,260

Product description

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel" and Milan Kundera's "The Art of the Novel," "How Fiction Works" is a scintillating study of the magic of fiction--an analysis of its main elements and a celebration of its lasting power. Here one of the most prominent and stylish critics of our time looks into the machinery of storytelling to ask some fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we "know" a fictional character? What constitutes a telling detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is Realism realistic? Why do some literary conventions become dated while others stay fresh? James Wood ranges widely, from Homer to "Make Way for Ducklings," from the Bible to John le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, "How Fiction Works" will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone else interested in what happens on the page.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

JAMES WOOD is a staff writer at "The New Yorker "and a visiting lecturer at Harvard. He is the author of two essay collections, "The Broken Estate "and "The Irresponsible Self," and a novel, "The Book Against God."

Review quote

""How Fiction Works" should delight and enlighten practicing novelists, would-be novelists, and all passionate readers of fiction. . . . Enchanting."-"-The Economist ""Wood's enthusiasm is glorious . . . a delight. . . . The pleasure in this book lies in watching Wood read."--"Time ""An articulate reminder of the framework that is essential to constructing a lasting work of the imagination."--"The Miami Herald ""Wood is among the few contemporary writers of great consequence. . . . Reading Wood, no matter the book under review, provides enormous pleasure."--"Los Angeles Times ""A fiercely committed critic and consummate stylist."--John Banville, "The New York Review of Books""A perceptive and graceful essay which almost anybody who's interested in books could read . . . Well worth reading."--"The Sunday Times "(UK)