• How Fiction Works See large image

    How Fiction Works (Picador) (Paperback) By (author) James Wood

    $11.56 - Save $3.45 22% off - RRP $15.01 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionIn the tradition of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel" and Milan Kundera's "The Art of the Novel," "How Fiction Works" is a scintillating study of the magic of fiction--an analysis of its main elements and a celebration of its lasting power. Here one of the most prominent and stylish critics of our time looks into the machinery of storytelling to ask some fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we "know" a fictional character? What constitutes a telling detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is Realism realistic? Why do some literary conventions become dated while others stay fresh? James Wood ranges widely, from Homer to "Make Way for Ducklings," from the Bible to John le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, "How Fiction Works" will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone else interested in what happens on the page.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for How Fiction Works

    Title
    How Fiction Works
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) James Wood
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 265
    Width: 119 mm
    Height: 183 mm
    Thickness: 20 mm
    Weight: 245 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780312428471
    ISBN 10: 0312428472
    Classifications

    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 25710
    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: LAN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T2.1
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    B&T General Subject: 480
    Ingram Subject Code: LA
    LC subject heading:
    Libri: ENGM1810
    DC22: 808.3
    BIC subject category V2: CBV
    LC subject heading:
    DC21: 808.3
    B&T Approval Code: A23500000
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 88
    LC subject heading: , ,
    B&T Approval Code: A23253000
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: LAN012000, LAN005000
    Libri: P0042092, ROMA2400
    LC classification: PN3355 .W66 2008
    Thema V1.0: CBV, CJCW
    Edition statement
    Reprint
    Publisher
    St Martin's Press
    Imprint name
    St Martin's Press
    Publication date
    21 July 2009
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    JAMES WOOD is a staff writer at "The New Yorker "and a visiting lecturer at Harvard. He is the author of two essay collections, "The Broken Estate "and "The Irresponsible Self," and a novel, "The Book Against God."
    Review quote
    ""How Fiction Works" should delight and enlighten practicing novelists, would-be novelists, and all passionate readers of fiction. . . . Enchanting."-"-The Economist ""Wood's enthusiasm is glorious . . . a delight. . . . The pleasure in this book lies in watching Wood read."--"Time ""An articulate reminder of the framework that is essential to constructing a lasting work of the imagination."--"The Miami Herald ""Wood is among the few contemporary writers of great consequence. . . . Reading Wood, no matter the book under review, provides enormous pleasure."--"Los Angeles Times ""A fiercely committed critic and consummate stylist."--John Banville, "The New York Review of Books""A perceptive and graceful essay which almost anybody who's interested in books could read . . . Well worth reading."--"The Sunday Times "(UK)