• How to Be a Good Wife See large image

    How to Be a Good Wife (Hardback) By (author) Emma J Chapman

    $17.64 - Save $7.36 29% off - RRP $25.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionIn the tradition of Emma Donoghue's "Room" and S.J. Watson's "Before I Go to Sleep, How To Be a Good Wife" by Emma Chapman is a haunting literary debut about a woman who begins having visions that make her question everything she knows Marta and Hector have been married for a long time. Through the good and bad; through raising a son and sending him off to life after university. So long, in fact, that Marta finds it difficult to remember her life before Hector. He has always taken care of her, and she has always done everything she can to be a good wife--as advised by a dog-eared manual given to her by Hector's aloof mother on their wedding day. But now, something is changing. Small things seem off. A flash of movement in the corner of her eye, elapsed moments that she can't recall. Visions of a blonde girl in the darkness that only Marta can see. Perhaps she is starting to remember--or perhaps her mind is playing tricks on her. As Marta's visions persist and her reality grows more disjointed, it's unclear if the danger lies in the world around her, or in Marta herself. The girl is growing more real every day, and she wants something.


Other books

Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for How to Be a Good Wife

    Title
    How to Be a Good Wife
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Emma J Chapman
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 288
    Width: 148 mm
    Height: 214 mm
    Thickness: 25 mm
    Weight: 376 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781250018199
    ISBN 10: 1250018196
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    DC21: 823.92
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: FIC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11110
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Subject Code: FP
    Libri: I-FP
    DC22: 823/.92
    B&T Approval Code: P25900000
    BISAC V2.8: FIC025000
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 11, 74
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 34
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Approval Code: P25100000
    LC subject heading: , ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC019000
    LC subject heading: ,
    LC classification: PR9619.4.C424 H69 2013
    Thema V1.0: FB
    Edition statement
    New ed.
    Publisher
    St. Martin's Press
    Imprint name
    St. Martin's Press
    Publication date
    15 October 2013
    Author Information
    EMMA J. CHAPMAN was born in 1985 and grew up in Manchester, England. She studied English Literature at the University of Edinburgh, followed by a Masters in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway, University of London. After university, she travelled solo in Scandinavia, where she learned to camp, bathe in fjords, and carry everything she needed. She is currently living in Perth, Western Australia. "How To Be a Good Wife "is her first novel.
    Review quote
    "On the surface the book is a highly competent chiller, but beneath, like a silent, bolted . . . room, there's a much bigger story about the nature of feminine experience. An accomplished debut."--Hilary Mantel, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Wolf Hall """How To Be a Good Wife" is at once claustrophobic, startling and hauntingly beautiful. It's that amazing, awful kind of book that will stay with you long after you wish it would let you go."--Liza Klaussmann, author of "Tigers in Red Weather ""A compelling, twisty tale of deception and distrust. Beautifully written, and very clever."--Elizabeth Haynes, author of "Into the Darkest Corner"