• The House at the End of Hope Street See large image

    The House at the End of Hope Street (Hardback) By (author) Menna van Praag

    $19.80 - Save $6.15 23% off - RRP $25.95 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $12.21

    DescriptionA magical debut about an enchanted house that offers refuge to women in their time of need Distraught that her academic career has stalled, Alba is walking through her hometown of Cambridge, England, when she finds herself in front of a house she's never seen before, 11 Hope Street. A beautiful older woman named Peggy greets her and invites her to stay, on the house's usual conditions: she has ninety-nine nights to turn her life around. With nothing left to lose, Alba takes a chance and moves in. She soon discovers that this is no ordinary house. Past residents have included Virginia Woolf and Dorothy Parker, who, after receiving the assistance they needed, hung around to help newcomers--literally, in talking portraits on the wall. As she escapes into this new world, Alba begins a journey that will heal her wounds--and maybe even save her life. Filled with a colorful and unforgettable cast of literary figures, "The House at the End of Hope Street" is a charming, whimsical novel of hope and feminine wisdom that is sure to appeal to fans of Jasper Fforde and especially Sarah Addison Allen.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The House at the End of Hope Street

    Title
    The House at the End of Hope Street
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Menna van Praag
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 280
    Width: 147 mm
    Height: 211 mm
    Thickness: 33 mm
    Weight: 295 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780670784639
    ISBN 10: 067078463X
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    BIC E4L: FAN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F2.2
    DC21: 823.92
    BIC subject category V2: FA, FM
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: FIC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11110
    LC subject heading: ,
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 04
    LC subject heading: ,
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: TP090
    Ingram Theme: SEXL/FEMINE
    Ingram Subject Code: FA
    Libri: I-FA
    DC22: 823/.92
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: FIC044000
    LC subject heading: , , ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC009010
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: FIC009050
    LC subject heading:
    LC classification: PR6116.R34 H68 2013
    Publisher
    Pamela Dorman Books
    Imprint name
    Pamela Dorman Books
    Publication date
    04 April 2013
    Author Information
    Menna van Praag is a freelance writer, journalist, and Oxford graduate. She is the author of "Men, Money and Chocolate." She lives in Cambridge, England, with her husband and son.
    Review quote
    "Beguiling and bright, van Praag's . . . novel delights with deft writing and charming characters." --"Kirkus" "Van Praag's writing is bright and hopeful, while rich characters combined with an enchanting blend of the real and the mystical make this tribute to individuality a delightful and engaging read. Fans of Jasper Fforde, Gloria Naylor, or Sarah Addison Allen will especially appreciate this story as a celebration of feminine strength and accomplished women through the ages." --"Booklist "(starred review) "Van Praag's fairytale first novel features a house that can change one's life. . . . Fans of Alice Hoffman and Sarah Addison Allen should like." --"Library Journal" "Absolutely delightful . . . . Fans of Sarah Addison Allen will thoroughly enjoy this story from start to finish. Well-drawn fictional characters, sprinkled with famous female characters from the past, combine to tell a tale of life, love, and discovering your deepest desires." --"RT Book Reviews" (top pick, 4.5 stars) "Sweet, magical, bookish and romantic." --Sarah Addison Allen, bestselling author of "The Peach Keeper " "This fresh, whimsical book is as full of heart as the house at its heart is full of fascinating women. We should all have such friends and such a refuge!" --Marisa de los Santos, bestselling author of "Falling Together" and "Love Walked In" "Menna van Praag has created a magical book about an enchanted house and the notable women who inhabit it, both living and dead. Richly atmospheric, literary, and textured, "The House at the End of Hope Street "casts an enthralling spell, giving both characters and readers not only what they most want, but what they ultimately need." --Brunonia Barry, bestselling author of "The Lace Reader" and "The Map of True Places" "An enchanting novel . . . Fans of Sarah Addison Allen will be delighted to discover the house at the end of Hope Street, a magical place where