Christmas Posting Dates
The House at the End of Hope Street

The House at the End of Hope Street

Hardback

By (author) Menna van Praag

List price $25.94

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $11.70
Hardback $30.30
  • Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
  • Format: Hardback | 280 pages
  • Dimensions: 147mm x 211mm x 33mm | 295g
  • Publication date: 4 April 2013
  • ISBN 10: 067078463X
  • ISBN 13: 9780670784639
  • Sales rank: 515,203

Product description

A magical debut about an enchanted house that offers refuge to women in their time of need Distraught that her academic career has stalled, Alba is walking through her hometown of Cambridge, England, when she finds herself in front of a house she's never seen before, 11 Hope Street. A beautiful older woman named Peggy greets her and invites her to stay, on the house's usual conditions: she has ninety-nine nights to turn her life around. With nothing left to lose, Alba takes a chance and moves in. She soon discovers that this is no ordinary house. Past residents have included Virginia Woolf and Dorothy Parker, who, after receiving the assistance they needed, hung around to help newcomers--literally, in talking portraits on the wall. As she escapes into this new world, Alba begins a journey that will heal her wounds--and maybe even save her life. Filled with a colorful and unforgettable cast of literary figures, "The House at the End of Hope Street" is a charming, whimsical novel of hope and feminine wisdom that is sure to appeal to fans of Jasper Fforde and especially Sarah Addison Allen.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Menna van Praag is a freelance writer, journalist, and Oxford graduate. She is the author of "Men, Money and Chocolate." She lives in Cambridge, England, with her husband and son.

Review quote

"Van Praag's fairytale first novel features a house that can change one's life. . . . Fans of Alice Hoffman and Sarah Addison Allen should like." --"Library Journal" "This fresh, whimsical book is as full of heart as the house at its heart is full of fascinating women. We should all have such friends and such a refuge!" --Marisa de los Santos, bestselling author of "Falling Together" and "Love Walked In" "Menna van Praag has created a magical book about an enchanted house and the notable women who inhabit it, both living and dead. Richly atmospheric, literary, and textured, "The House at the End of Hope Street "casts an enthralling spell, giving both characters and readers not only what they most want, but what they ultimately need." --Brunonia Barry, bestselling author of "The Lace Reader" and "The Map of True Places" "An enchanting novel . . . Fans of Sarah Addison Allen will be delighted to discover the house at the end of Hope Street, a magical place where ninety-nine days is just long enough to change a life." --Erica Bauermeister, bestselling author of "The School of Essential Ingredients" and "The Lost Art of Mixing" "I entered "The House at the End of Hope Street" and was enchanted--literally under the spell--of Menna van Praag's tender, playful, beautiful writing. It fulfills my book lover's dream of an English literary landscape, in the most surprising and magical way." --Luanne Rice, bestselling author of "Little Night" "This exceptional novel enchanted me from the first beautiful page. If only I could stay a spell myself at the house at the end of Hope Street." --Melissa Senate, bestselling author of "The Love Goddess' Cooking School" "The House at the End of Hope Street is a sunrise of a novel, so fresh and lovely, whimsical and original that it will enchant and surprise even the most jaded of readers." --Barbara O'Neal, author of "The Garden of Happy Endings" "The story