House Rules

House Rules

Book rating: 05 Paperback Chicagoland Vampires Novels

By (author) Chloe Neill

$11.89
List price $15.00
You save $3.11 20% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
CD-Audio $20.46
  • Publisher: Signet
  • Format: Paperback | 333 pages
  • Dimensions: 134mm x 202mm x 22mm | 259g
  • Publication date: 2 May 2013
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0451237102
  • ISBN 13: 9780451237101
  • Edition: 1
  • Sales rank: 60,366

Product description

"In a city full of vampires, trouble never sleeps. " At the tender age of twenty-seven, Merit became a sword-wielding vampire. Since then, she's become the protector of her House, watched Chicago nearly burn to the ground, and seen her Master fall and rise. Now she'll see her mettle--and her metal--tested like never before. It started with two . . . Two rogues vanishing without a trace. Someone is targeting Chicago's vampires, and anyone could be next. With their house in peril, Merit and her Master, the centuries-old Ethan Sullivan, must race to stop the disappearances. But as they untangle a web of secret alliances and ancient evils, they realize their foe is more familiar, and more powerful, than they could have ever imagined.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Chloe Neill was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When not transcribing Merit's adventures, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys, her photographer husband, and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.

Customer reviews

By Camilla Hesby Johnsen 09 Feb 2013 5

** spoiler alert ** SYNOPSIS:
At the tender age of 27, Merit became a sword-wielding vampire. Since then, she's become the protector of her House, watched Chicago nearly burn to the ground, and seen her Master fall and rise. Now she'll see her mettle-and her metal -tested like never before.

It started with two . . . Two rogues vanishing without a trace. Someone is targeting Chicago's vampires, and anyone could be next. With their house in peril, Merit and her Master, the centuries old Ethan Sullivan, must race to stop the disappearances. But as they untangle a web of secret alliances and ancient evils, they realize their foe is more familiar, and more powerful, than they could have ever imagined.





MY THOUGHTS:
This is a solid new installment in the Chicago vampire land series if not the best book so far .It sucked me right in on the first page, it is so well written the words just flow on the pages and paint wonderful scenes in your head that come alive; you almost smell what they smell. You feel what they feel and I went through the scale of emotions like a role coaster ride during this book, from pure joy and ecstasy, anger, terror, sadness and total bliss.
It has pretty much everything and I was sitting on needles the whole book and could not put it down. If is full of the lovely snark we all love and quick witty dialog. The chemistry between Merit and everybody's favorite vamp is wonderful and steaming hot they are getting along in their relationship, not smoothly but with bumps and some fab makeup scenes. They now have a relationship and are living together, FINALY!! The snake in the paradise is back, one master vamp Lacey Sheridan now all dressed up like a Merit lookalike. Seriously I was snickering over that. The plot was wonderful and had me on edge the whole book, it dealt with two things the GP and a murder investigation. With the GP out of the house I see a new interesting new line, maybe Amit Patel turns up, in a future book. He has stayed far away from the GP and house so maybe we get to meet him in the future.
You got some Jeff, Mallory, and Catcher in it and there are some great scenes with Lindsey and Luc too. We finally get to know what Jeff turns into, but I am not going to tell you. Merit revealed a little of what see saw in Gabriel's eyes/prophecy. Do I see some foreshadowing there? I sure think so.
I can hardly wait to get my hands on the next book Biting Bad that is published in August 6, six more months to wait..
I just loved this book and I am giving it 5 stars.

Review quote

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels: "These books are wonderful entertainment."--#1 "New York Times" bestselling author Charlaine Harris "A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine." --"USA Today "bestselling author Julie Kenner "[A] strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." --"Library Journal" "Delivers enough action, plot twists, and fights to satisfy the most jaded urban fantasy reader."--"Monsters and Critics " "If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl." -"Geek Monthly "