The Heresy of Dr Dee

The Heresy of Dr Dee

Paperback

By (author) Phil Rickman

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $11.20
Hardback $21.56
Audio cassette $98.55
  • Publisher: Corvus
  • Format: Paperback | 480 pages
  • Dimensions: 155mm x 232mm x 35mm | 608g
  • Publication date: 1 November 2012
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1848872771
  • ISBN 13: 9781848872776
  • Edition statement: Export & Airside ed
  • Sales rank: 882,432

Product description

Tudor intrigue, murder and the dark arts - the second in a stunning and acclaimed historical series starring Dr John Dee, perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom All talk is of the End-time...and the dead are rising. At the end of the sunless summer of 1560, black rumour shrouds the death of the one woman who stands between Lord Robert Dudley and marriage to the young Queen Elizabeth. Did Dudley's wife, Amy, die from an accidental fall in a deserted house, or was it a calculated murder? Even Dr John Dee, astrologer royal, adviser on the Hidden and one of Dudley's oldest friends, is uncertain. Then a rash promise to the Queen sends him to his family's old home on the Welsh Border in pursuit of the Wigmore Shewstone, a crystal credited supernatural properties. With Dee goes Robert Dudley, considered the most hated man in England. They travel with the entourage of a London judge sent to try a sinister Welsh brigand with a legacy dating back to the Battle of Brynglas, in which close to a thousand Englishmen died at the hands of the Welsh. After the battle, many of the bodies were, according to legend, obscenely mutilated. Now, on the same haunted hill, another dead man has been found, similarly slashed. Devious politics, small-town corruption, twisted religion and a brooding superstition leave John Dee isolated in the land of his father...It is suitable for readers of C.J. Sansom, Iain Pears, S.J. Parris and Rory Clements.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Phil Rickman lives on the Welsh border where he writes and presents the book programme Phil the Shelf on BBC Radio Wales. He is the hugely popular author of The Bones of Avalon and the Merrily Watkins Mysteries.

Review quote

"* 'No-one writes better than Phil Rickman of the shadow-frontier between the supernatural and the real world' - Bernard Cornwell * 'Brilliantly imagined and grippingly executed' - The Times * 'This one is rather special... Rickman makes a wonderfully assured leap into the sixteenth century... compelling and historically convincing' - Spectator * 'We don't praise our home-grown thriller writers enough, it's high time we praised Phil Rickman' - Daily Mail"