The Heresy of Dr Dee

The Heresy of Dr Dee

By (author)


You save US$0.66

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

Tudor intrigue, murder and the dark arts - the second in a stunning and acclaimed historical series starring Dr John Dee, perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom All talk is of the End-time...and the dead are rising. At the end of the sunless summer of 1560, black rumour shrouds the death of the one woman who stands between Lord Robert Dudley and marriage to the young Queen Elizabeth. Did Dudley's wife, Amy, die from an accidental fall in a deserted house, or was it a calculated murder? Even Dr John Dee, astrologer royal, adviser on the Hidden and one of Dudley's oldest friends, is uncertain. Then a rash promise to the Queen sends him to his family's old home on the Welsh Border in pursuit of the Wigmore Shewstone, a crystal credited supernatural properties. With Dee goes Robert Dudley, considered the most hated man in England. They travel with the entourage of a London judge sent to try a sinister Welsh brigand with a legacy dating back to the Battle of Brynglas, in which close to a thousand Englishmen died at the hands of the Welsh. After the battle, many of the bodies were, according to legend, obscenely mutilated. Now, on the same haunted hill, another dead man has been found, similarly slashed. Devious politics, small-town corruption, twisted religion and a brooding superstition leave John Dee isolated in the land of his father...It is suitable for readers of C.J. Sansom, Iain Pears, S.J. Parris and Rory Clements.

show more
  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 158 x 232 x 36mm | 621.42g
  • Corvus
  • LondonUnited Kingdom
  • English
  • Export & Airside ed
  • 1848872771
  • 9781848872776
  • 927,230

Other books in Historical Fiction

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"* 'No-one writes better than Phil Rickman of the shadow-frontier between the supernatural and the real world' - Bernard Cornwell * 'Brilliantly imagined and grippingly executed' - The Times * 'This one is rather special... Rickman makes a wonderfully assured leap into the sixteenth century... compelling and historically convincing' - Spectator * 'We don't praise our home-grown thriller writers enough, it's high time we praised Phil Rickman' - Daily Mail"

show more

About Phil Rickman

Phil Rickman lives on the Welsh border where he writes and presents the book programme Phil the Shelf on BBC Radio Wales. He is the hugely popular author of The Bones of Avalon and the Merrily Watkins Mysteries.

show more

Reviews from