• Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

    Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality (Paperback) By (author) Jacob Tomsky

    $11.80 - Save $3.21 21% off - RRP $15.01 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Hardback $19.62

    DescriptionIn the tradition of "Kitchen Confidential" and "Waiter Rant," a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry. Jacob Tomsky never "intended" to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in "hospitality" for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In "Heads in Beds" he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we "think" we know. "Heads in Beds" is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who's seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets--not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it's like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you'll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Heads in Beds

    Title
    Heads in Beds
    Subtitle
    A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Jacob Tomsky
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 306
    Width: 133 mm
    Height: 202 mm
    Thickness: 17 mm
    Weight: 231 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780307948342
    ISBN 10: 030794834X
    Classifications

    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: BIO
    BIC subject category V2: BM
    B&T Merchandise Category: TXT
    BIC subject category V2: WH
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T4.8
    B&T General Subject: 170
    Ingram Subject Code: BA
    DC22: B
    BIC subject category V2: KNS
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11800
    Libri: ENGM1080
    BIC subject category V2: BGBA
    BISAC V2.8: BUS081000, HUM010000, HUM015000, BIO026000, BIO003000
    DC21: 647.94092
    DC22: 647.94092
    LC subject heading: , ,
    LC classification: TX911.3.F75 T66 2013
    Publisher
    Random House USA Inc
    Imprint name
    Random House Inc
    Publication date
    18 November 2013
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    Jacob Tomsky is a dedicated veteran of the hospitality business. Well-spoken, uncannily quick on his feet, and no more honest than he needs to be, he also is the founder and president of Short Story Thursdays, a weekly, email based short story club. His writing has appeared in "The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, O Magazine, The Daily Beast, "and other venues. Born in Oakland, California, to a military family, Tomsky now lives in Brooklyn, New York. www.jacobtomsky.com
    Review quote
    Praise for "Heads in Beds: " ""Heads in Beds" is Mr. Tomsky's highly amusing guidebook to the dirty little secrets of the hospitality trade. But it is neither a meanspirited book nor a one-sided one.... [H]e winds up sounding like an essentially honest, decent guy. And his observations about character are keen, perhaps because he's seen it all.... If this were simply a travel book of the news-you-can-use ilk, it would be of only minor interest. But Mr. Tomsky turns out to be an effervescent writer, with enough snark to make his stories sharp-edged but without the self-promoting smugness that sinks so many memoirs.... "Heads in Beds" embraces the full, novelistic breadth of hotel experience.... [Tomsky] is no longer a hotel employee and now, with good reason, thinks of himself as a writer." --Janet Maslin, "New York Times " "For those of us who'd rather live in good hotels than in our own homes, oh Lordy, is this ever a horrifyingly good time. It's the sort of equivalent of WebMD for hypochondriacs: You know you're learning way more than is good for you, but you just can't stop reading. Tomsky, who may be an even better writer than a hotelier (and he's a damn good hotelier) has worked every job and every shift; he takes us into the bowels (sometimes literally) of the hotel business, with all the pomp and circumstance, the hidden filth, and the fears and aspirations and secrets of guests and staff alike."--Judith Newman, "People" (4 Stars) "For the uninitiated, staying at a luxury hotel can be a little intimidating.... [But] front desk raconteur Jacob Tomsky is here to help. His sharp-witted, candid new book, "Heads in Beds," demystifies the world of high-end hospitality.... Coarse, smart and wickedly funny, the author delivers hilarious caricatures of the hotel guests and colleagues he has encountered over the years.... Tightly written and laced with delicious insider tips."--John Wilwol, "Washington Post " "A wonderfully indi