Gwynfor Evans: A Portrait of a Patriot

Gwynfor Evans: A Portrait of a Patriot


By (author) Rhys Evans, Translated by Robin T. Chapman

List price $38.95
You save $3.90 10% off

Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Y Lolfa
  • Format: Hardback | 528 pages
  • Dimensions: 180mm x 255mm x 51mm | 1,338g
  • Publication date: 31 December 2008
  • Publication City/Country: Talybont
  • ISBN 10: 0862439183
  • ISBN 13: 9780862439187
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations

Product description

Gwynfor Evans propelled Welsh politics onto the UK stage in the second half of the twentieth century. This award-winning biography of an iconic figure examines his complex character and dissects his personal and political relationships to reveal, for the first time, what drove Gwynfor Evans. He was one of the rare poiliticians to have forced Margaret Thatcher to make a U-turn, when he threatened to fast to death in order to ensure the establishment of a Welsh-language TV channel. He also won one of the most famous by-elections and he is widely credited with paving the way for devolution. In this compelling account of the man known to a generation of Welsh people as, simply, Gwynfor, Rhys Evans exposes the foundations of modern Wales and tells the story of one man and the way he helped mould the devolved UK.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Rhys Evans was born in Carmarthen and raised in Aberystwyth. He was educated at Penweddig Comprehensive School, Aberystwyth and Hertford College, Oxford where he studied Modern History. A journalist for over a decade, Rhys Evans is currently BBC Wales' Deputy Head of News and Current Affairs. The Welsh-language version of this book won the Academi Book of the Year award in 2006.

Table of contents

Chap 1 Conversion, 1912-31; Chap 2 Proselytizing 1931-39; Chap 3 A Touch of Bother, 1939-45; Holding Ground, 1945-51; Kissing Babies, 1951-55; Deep Dark Waters of Tryweryn, 1955-59; Civil War, 1959-64; Light at the end of the Tunnel, 1964-66; MP for Wales, 1966-79; Receding Joy, 1970-74; Disaster, 1974-79; Any Other Business, 1979-83; Old Man of Pencarreg, 1983-2005; The Inheritance