The Grand Sophy

The Grand Sophy

By (author)


You save US$2.01

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day

When will my order arrive?

A New York Times Bestseller!Celebrate the 80th birthday of Regency Romance with great books from Sourcebooks Casablanca!"Sophy grabs you and takes you on a ride you don't want to end. With fabulous characters, zany laugh-out-loud moments, and the need to see just what she will come up with next."-Nelaine, Reviewer When Sir Horace Stanton-Lacy is ordered to South America on Diplomatic Business he parks his only daughter, Sophy, with his sister in Berkeley Square. Forward, bold, and out-spoken, Sophy sweeps in and immediately takes ton by storm. Upon her arrival, Sophy can see that her cousins are in a sad tangle: Ceclia is in love with a poet, Charles is engaged to a dour bluestocking, her uncle is of no use at all, and the younger children are in desperate need of some fun and freedom. They all need her help and it's providential that Sophy arrives when she does. Utterly hilarious and completely endearing, The Grand Sophy is a fan favorite from The Queen of Regency Romance. Fans of Jane Austen, Julia Quinn, and Eloisa James will be delighted by Sophy, the outrageous lengths she goes to solve everyone else's problems, and the surprises in store for everyone! Other Regency Romances from Georgette Heyer: Frederica a woman seeking security for her family finds love where, and when, she least expected it Sylvester-She meets none of his requirements for a wife. He is the chief villain in her novel. Cotillion- A sham betrothal isn't the only thing that gets Kitty and Freddy into trouble, but it's definitely the beginning.What readers are saying about The Grand Sophy"This is one of the funniest, most historically accurate and endearing Regency romances I have ever read!" "I grinned and giggled many times at the antics of these characters, loving even those bumbling fools at which we are meant to scoff.""This book was a madcap delight."What reviewers are saying about The Grand Sophy"The Grand Sophy was an exciting, charming read. The characters grab you and don't let go." Anna's Book Blog"Fun, engaging and hilarious, I cannot recommend it more highly. Sophy is a devilishly fine girl." AustenProse "The Grand Sophy is a very entertaining Regency romance with wonderfully eccentric characters and a very humorous plot."-Once Upon a RomanceWhat everyone has to say about the Queen of Regency Romance Georgette Heyer"Reading Georgette Heyer is the next best thing to reading Jane Austen."Publishers Weekly "Georgette Heyer was one of the great protagonists of the historical novel in the post-war golden age of the form. Her regency romances are delightful light reading..."Philippa Gregory "[Heyer's] characters are witty and beyond charming, her prose is flawless and lighthearted, and her historical detail is immaculate."-Read All Over Reviews"Georgette Heyer is unbeatable." -Sunday Telegraph"

show more
  • Paperback | 372 pages
  • 134.62 x 200.66 x 30.48mm | 476.27g
  • Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • NapervilleUnited States
  • English
  • 140221894X
  • 9781402218941
  • 149,603

Other books in Historical Romance

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

The "Grand Sophy" is lively and emotive; a thoroughly satisfying read for all regency era, Historical Romance fans! -- Bobbie Crawford-McCoy "Book Reviews by Bobbie" (08/13/2009)

show more

Flap copy

When Sophy goes to stay with her cousins in Berkeley Square, she finds them in a sad tangle of affairs - some romantic and others of a more pecuniary nature. Perhaps the Grand Sophy has arrived just in time to save them.

show more

About Georgette Heyer

The late Georgette Heyer was a very private woman. Her historical novels have charmed and delighted millions of readers for decades, though she rarely reached out to the public to discuss her works or private life. It is known that she was born in Wimbledon in August 1902, and her first novel, The Black Moth, was published in 1921. Heyer published 56 books over the next 53 years, until her death from lung cancer in 1974. Heyer's large volume of works included Regency romances, mysteries and historical fiction. Known also as the Queen of Regency romance, Heyer was legendary for her research, historical accuracy and her extraordinary plots and characterizations. Her last book, My Lord John, was published posthumously in 1975. She was married to George Ronald Rougier, a mining engineer, and they had one son together, Richard.

show more