• The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder See large image

    The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Paperback) By (author) Charles Graeber

    $11.22 - Save $3.25 22% off - RRP $14.47 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Hardback $23.11

    Description"After his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was quickly dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no mercy killer, nor was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son, husband, beloved father, best friend, and celebrated caregiver. Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300 patients, he was also perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American history. Cullen's murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned sixteen years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a surprisingly intelligent and complicated young man whose promising career was overwhelmed by his compulsion to kill, and whose shy demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to his family and friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two former Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of Cullen's professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put everything at risk, including her job and the safety of her children, there's no telling how many more lives could have been lost. In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse does more than chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless efforts to stop him; it paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and betrayal."


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Good Nurse

    Title
    The Good Nurse
    Subtitle
    A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Charles Graeber
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 320
    Width: 170 mm
    Height: 202 mm
    Thickness: 23 mm
    Weight: 298 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781782393498
    ISBN 10: 1782393498
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: CRI
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T18.1
    BIC subject category V2: BTC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 26920
    BIC subject category V2: JMP, MQC
    BISAC V2.8: TRU000000, PSY022000, MED058000
    DC23: 364.15232092
    Thema V1.0: MQC, DNXC, JMP
    Publisher
    ATLANTIC BOOKS
    Imprint name
    ATLANTIC BOOKS
    Publication date
    03 July 2014
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Charles Graeber is an award winning journalist and contributor to numerous publications including Wired, GQ, The New Yorker, New York Magazine, Vogue and the New York Times. Born in Iowa, he now lives in Nantucket, MA and Brooklyn, New York.
    Review quote
    Charles Cullen is thought to be responsible for the deaths of as many as 400 patients during his career as a nurse... His crimes are outlined in The Good Nurse, an absorbing tale that's simultaneously terrifying and barely credible... A standout true-crime book, one that doubles as both a thrilling horror story and a cautionary tale --Boston Globe The most terrifying book published this year. It is also one of the most thoughtful... The Good Nurse is gripping, sad, suspenseful, rhythmic and beautifully documented (the endnotes to this book are impressive). --Kirkus Reviews Graeber doesn't pull punches... A deeply unsettling addition to the true crime genre. --Publishers Weekly