Gilead

Gilead

Paperback

By (author) Marilynne Robinson

$11.82
List price $15.00
You save $3.18 21% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Picador USA
  • Format: Paperback | 247 pages
  • Dimensions: 140mm x 203mm x 20mm | 204g
  • Publication date: 21 January 2006
  • Publication City/Country: New York, NY
  • ISBN 10: 031242440X
  • ISBN 13: 9780312424404
  • Edition: New edition
  • Edition statement: 1st Picador ed
  • Sales rank: 15,723

Product description

Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate"). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. "Gilead "is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Marilynne Robinson is the author of the modern classic "Housekeeping"--winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award--and two books of nonfiction, "Mother Country" (FSG, 1989) and T"he Death of Adam." She teaches at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop.

Review quote

"At a moment in cultural history dominated by the shallow, the superficial, the quick fix, Marilynne Robinson is a miraculous anomaly: a writer who thoughtfully, carefully, and tenaciously explores some of the deepest questions confronting the human species. . . . Poignant, absorbing, lyrical...Robinson manages to convey the miracle of existence itself."--Merle Rubin, "Los Angeles Times Book Review" "Incandescent . . . magnificent . . . [a] literary miracle."--Lisa Schwarzbaum, "Entertainment Weekly" (A)"Rapturous . . . astonishing . . . "Gilead" is an inspired work from a writer whose sensibility seems steeped in holy fire."--Lisa Shea, "Elle" "Lyrical and meditative . . . potently contemplative."--Michele Orecklin, "Time" "Perfect."--Jeremy Jackson, "People"(four stars) "Major."--Philip Connors, "Newsday""""You must read this book. . . . Altogether unlike any other work of fiction, it has sprung forth more than twenty years after "Housekeeping" with what I can only call amazing grace."--Anne Hulbert, "Slate""""So serenely beautiful and written in a prose so gravely measured and thoughtful, that one feels touched with grace just to read it."--Michael Dirda, "The Washington Post""""There are passages here of such profound, hard-won wisdom and spiritual insight that they make your own life seem richer. . . . "Gilead" [is] a quiet, deep celebration of life that you must not miss."--Ron Charles, "The Christian Science Monitor"""""Gilead" is a refuge for readers longing for that increasingly rare work of fiction, one that explores big ideas while telling a good story. As John Ames might point out, it's a remarkable thing to consider."--Olivia Boler, "San Francisco Chronicle"