George VI: The Dutiful King

George VI: The Dutiful King


By (author) Sarah Bradford

List price $23.42
You save $5.57 23% off

Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Format: Paperback | 704 pages
  • Dimensions: 128mm x 194mm x 50mm | 481g
  • Publication date: 27 January 2011
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0241956099
  • ISBN 13: 9780241956090
  • Illustrations note: geneal. tables
  • Sales rank: 115,250

Product description

This is the definitive biography of George VI, the hero of The King's Speech. George VI reigned through taxing times. Acceding to the throne upon his brother's abdication, he was immediately confronted with the turmoil in European politics leading up to the Second World War, then the War itself, followed by a period of austerity, social transformation and loss of Empire. George was unprepared for kingship, suffering from a stammer which could make public occasions very painful for him. Moreover he had grown up in the shadow of his brother, a man who had been idolized as no royal prince has been, before or since. However, as Sarah Bradford shows in this sympathetic biography, although George was not born to be king, he died a great one. "A triumph...Sarah Bradford looks set to inherit Lady Longford's mantle as royal biographer supreme". (Mail on Sunday). "Lucid, convincing and admirably fair...George VI has been fortunate in his biographer". (Philip Ziegler). "Vivid, thorough and enjoyable". (Independent). Sarah Bradford is a historian and biographer. Her books include Cesare Borgia (1976), Disraeli (1982), winner of the New York Times Book of the Year, Princess Grace (1984), Sacherevell Sitwell (1993), Elizabeth: A Biography of Her Majesty the Queen (1996), America's Queen: The Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis (2000), Lucrezia Borgia (2005) and Diana (2007). She lives in London and is married to the 8th Viscount Bangor. She is currently working on a full scale biography of Queen Victoria.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Sarah Bradford is a historian and biographer. Her books include CESARE BORGIA (1976), DISRAELI (1982), PRINCESS GRACE (1984), SACHEVERELL SITWELL (1993), ELIZABETH (1996) and AMERICA'S QUEEN (2000). Her next book is the biography of ELIZABETH II, to be published in 2012. Sarah Bradford lives in London.