• Galveston See large image

    Galveston (Sphere) (Paperback) By (author) Nic Pizzolatto

    05

    $10.96 - Save $3.51 24% off - RRP $14.47 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionFrom the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere. Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive. Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind. Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results

Reviews for Galveston

Write a review
  • Top review

    Brilliant Award Wining Crime5

    Paul D Galveston �??�?�¢?? Simply Stunning

    Having read Galveston by Nic Pizzolatto it is easy to see why this has been an award winning debut novel from the creator of the HBO and Sky Atlantic series True Detectives. While in this crime thriller the police tend to play a walk on part he uses exactly the same creative devices used in True Detective. Those devices make you feel that you too are central to the story and telling this in the first person to someone makes you feel as if you are there in the first person. Within the story there is a strong noir presence that pervades throughout and helps to give this story some depth.

    Roy Cady acknowledges that he is a bad man who has done some terrible things in his life time and that he has lung cancer that will kill him shortly. His boss wants him to visit Frank Sienkiewicz to give him a little reminder but things do not go to plan and he needs to go on the run taking with him a beaten up young girl with him. They need to put some space between them and New Orleans and head out through Louisiana in to Texas, picking up the girls daughter on the way. They end up at a beach side motel in Galveston where they all try and put their hard lives behind them but like everything in life it soon catches up soon enough.

    This is a story of hope and being able to turn your life around when you hit rock bottom and trying to escape your past and sometimes good things do come out of the bad times. This is a very atmospheric gripping crime novel which slowly draws you in and then grabs you by the throat so that you do not want to put the book down. At times the description and imagery is bleak, and you can see the low rent motels the cowboy bars the dusty weed infested strips where the people will stab you soon as look at you. The novel shows us there are many people around you that are trying to escape something and you are only incidental to that. The novel shows that even the bad guy should never give up hope of good things happening.

    This is a brilliant short novel full of grit and the desperate vulnerability of all the players around you. A brilliant first novel and I look forward to his next. by Paul D

Write a review
Showing 1 to 1 of 1 results