Frederica
26%
off

Frederica

By (author)

US$15.49US$20.98

You save US$5.49

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

Description

"Heyer was one of the great protagonists of the historical novel in the post-war golden age..." Philippa GregoryCelebrate the 80th birthday of Regency Romance with great books from Sourcebooks Casablanca!Frederica only wants what's best for her family, even if it means sacrificing her own happiness. When she brings her younger siblings to London, she may find the chance to give them everything-and find love along the way. Determined to secure a brilliant marriage for her beautiful sister, Frederica seeks out their distant cousin the Marquis of Alverstoke. Lovely, competent, and refreshingly straightforward, Frederica makes such a strong impression that to his own amazement, the Marquis agrees to help launch them all into society. Normally wary of his family, which includes two overbearing sisters and innumerable favor-seekers, Lord Alverstoke does his best to keep his distance. But with his enterprising and altogether entertaining country cousins getting into one scrape after another right on his doorstep, before he knows it the Marquis finds himself dangerously embroiled. Charming characters and flawless proses make Frederica a fan favorite from the Queen of Regency Romance. Fans of Jane Austen, Tessa Dare, and Theresa Romain will delight in the entertaining story of a woman seeking security for her family but finding love where and when she least expected it. More Regency Romances from Georgette Heyer: The Grand Sophy When the incomparable Sophy arrives in London to stay with her aunt she takes the house, and the ton, by storm. Sylvester-She meets none of his requirements for a wife. He is the chief villain in her novel. Cotillion- A sham betrothal isn't the only thing that gets Kitty and Freddy into trouble, but it's definitely the beginning.What readers are saying about Frederica"It was so clever, brilliant, touching, entertaining and plain good FUN!" "Has all of Heyer's best features: humor, wit, and irony; an exquisite sense of time and place." "Perfection! ...Witty, sparkling, and heart-wrenching."What reviewers are saying about Frederica"Humorous, light-hearted...a nice, comfortable way to get your Austen-fix."-Love Romance Passion "This is a great book that explores both the relationships of the characters, and the Regency era itself. Fun, entertaining, enthralling!"-Wendi's Book Corner "[A] fun, charming book... Frederica is a keeper, going on my bookshelf."-Lesa's Book Critiques "There was a playful, light-hearted feel to this book that, along with the engaging characters, totally charmed me."-Genre Reviews "The novel ends on a most satisfying note, and I can think of no better way of spending a chilly winter evening wrapped in a down comforter with my pooch sleeping by my side- than reading this gem of a book."-Jane Austen's World "Overflowing with fun and family, this warm, joyful 1965 Regency is one of Heyer's later novels and another popular title."-Library JournalWhat everyone has to say about the Queen of Regency Romance Georgette Heyer"Reading Georgette Heyer is the next best thing to reading Jane Austen." Publishers Weekly"[Heyer's] characters are witty and beyond charming, her prose is flawless and lighthearted, and her historical detail is immaculate."-Read All Over Reviews "Georgette Heyer is unbeatable." -Sunday Telegraph"

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 437 pages
  • 132 x 202 x 32mm | 476.27g
  • Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1402214766
  • 9781402214769
  • 75,199

Review quote

The novel is humorous, light-hearted... a nice, comfortable way to get your Austen-fix. -- Keira Gillet "Love Romance Passion" (06/12/2009)

show more

About Georgette Heyer

The late Georgette Heyer was a very private woman. Her historical novels have charmed and delighted millions of readers for decades, though she rarely reached out to the public to discuss her works or private life. It is known that she was born in Wimbledon in August 1902, and her first novel, The Black Moth, was published in 1921. Heyer published 56 books over the next 53 years, until her death from lung cancer in 1974. Heyer's large volume of works included Regency romances, mysteries and historical fiction. Known also as the Queen of Regency romance, Heyer was legendary for her research, historical accuracy and her extraordinary plots and characterizations. Her last book, My Lord John, was published posthumously in 1975. She was married to George Ronald Rougier, a mining engineer, and they had one son together, Richard.

show more

Flap copy

Rich, handsome, darling of the ton, the Marquis of Alverstoke at 37 sees no reason to put himself out for anyone, that is, until the strong-minded Frederica, who seems more concerned with her family's welfare than his attentions, catches his eye.

show more