• Forensics for Dummies See large image

    Forensics for Dummies (For Dummies) (Paperback) By (author) Douglas P. Lyle

    $16.57 - Save $9.11 35% off - RRP $25.68 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionA plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell's novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few examples. Now, everyone can get the lowdown on the science behind crime scene investigations. Using lots of fascinating case studies, forensics expert Dr. D. P. Lyle clues people in on everything from determining cause and time of death to fingerprints, fibers, blood, ballistics, forensic computing, and forensic psychology. With its clear, entertaining explanations of forensic procedures and techniques, this book will be an indispensable reference for mystery fans and true crime aficionados everywhere-and even includes advice for people interested in forensic science careers. D. P. Lyle, MD (Laguna Hills, CA), is a practicing cardiologist who is also a forensics expert and mystery writer. He runs a Web site that answers writers' questions about forensics, dplylemd.com, and is the author of Murder and Mayhem: A Doctor Answers Medical and Forensic Questions for Writers, as well as several mystery novels. John Pless, MD, is Professor Emeritus of Pathology at Indiana University School of Medicine and former President of the National Association of Medical Examiners.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Forensics for Dummies

    Title
    Forensics for Dummies
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Douglas P. Lyle
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 384
    Width: 187 mm
    Height: 236 mm
    Thickness: 20 mm
    Weight: 573 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780764555800
    ISBN 10: 0764555804
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: CRI
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: S3.3
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    Ingram Subject Code: LE
    Libri: I-LE
    B&T Modifier: Continuations: 02
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 16200
    DC22: 363.25
    LC subject heading:
    B&T General Subject: 490
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: SOC004000, LAW027000
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Approval Code: C39300000
    BISAC V2.8: LAW041000
    BIC subject category V2: JKVF1, MMQ
    LC subject heading:
    LC classification: HV8073
    LC subject heading: ,
    LC classification: HV8073 .L93 2004
    Thema V1.0: JKVF1, JKV, MKT
    Illustrations note
    Illustrations
    Publisher
    John Wiley & Sons Inc
    Imprint name
    Hungry Minds Inc,U.S.
    Publication date
    30 April 2004
    Publication City/Country
    Foster City
    Author Information
    D. P. Lyle, MD, operates The Writer's Medical and Forensics Lab at www.dplylemd.com. He has served as a consultant for prominent writers and television programs, including Law & Order.
    Review quote
    "...leaves you wondering how anyone ever manages to get away with any crime, let alone murder. Highly recommended..." (Fortean Times, March 2005) "...fascinating reading...a must-have book...a superb introduction to a fascinating subject..." (Ripperologist, July 2004)
    Back cover copy
    Features famous forensic case studies"Dynamic, entertaining, and educational . . .blows the lid off the science of crime." --Kathleen Antrim, author of Capital OffenseFascinated by forensics? This plain-English guide introduces you to all the key players behind the investigations, revealing how they work crime scenes to identify the victim, criminal, and the circumstances surrounding the crime. You'll follow the medical examiner and the forensic team in action, find out how they collect and evaluate evidence, and get a glimpse into the criminal mind.Praise for Forensics For Dummies"Dr. Doug Lyle has created the must-have guide to forensic science." - Simon Wood, author of Accidents Waiting to Happen"An informative, fun, and accessible compendium of facts for laymen and professionals alike. Highly recommended." - Barbara Seranella, creator of the Munch Mancini crime novels"This is the lay person's indispensable guide to the fine art of criminal investigation." -- Taylor Smith, author of Liar's Market and other novels of suspenseDiscover how to: Assess the scene of a crimeAnalyze trace evidenceDetermine how and when a victim diedTrace drugs and poisons in the bodyEvaluate firearms evidencePursue a career in forensics
    Table of contents
    Foreword. Introduction. Part I: Cracking Open the Case. Chapter 1: Understanding the World of Forensics. Chapter 2: Uncovering Who Does What When: The Forensics Team in Action. Chapter 3: Working the Scene: Evidence Collection and Protection. Chapter 4: Peering into the Criminal Mind. Part II: Uncovering the Evidence. Chapter 5: Fingerprints: Your Personal Signature. Chapter 6: Those Messy Bloodstains. Chapter 7: Making Good Impressions: Shoes, Tires, and Tools. Chapter 8: The Burning Question: Is It Arson? Part III: Looking at the Body. Chapter 9: Determining the Hows and Whys of Death: Forensic Autopsies. Chapter 10: Identifying John and Jane Doe. Chapter 11: Estimating the Time of Death. Chapter 12: Yeow! That Hurts: Traumatic Injuries and Deaths. Chapter 13: Asphyxia: Where's the Oxygen? Part IV: Working in the Crime Lab. Chapter 14: Working with Blood and Other Bodily Fluids: Serology. Chapter 15: What's the Deal with DNA? Chapter 16: Finding Drugs and Poisons: The Toxicology Lab. Chapter 17: Analyzing Trace Evidence. Chapter 18: Going Ballistic: Analyzing Firearms Evidence. Chapter 19: Questioning the Validity of Documents. Part V: The Part of Tens. Chapter 20: Ten Famous Forensic Cases. Chapter 21: Ten Ways Hollywood Gets It Wrong. Chapter 22: Ten Great Forensic Careers. Index.