• The Food of Spain See large image

    The Food of Spain (Hardback) By (author) Claudia Roden, By (photographer) Jason Lowe

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $44.87 - Save $0.13 - RRP $45.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionIn The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden, the James Beard award-winning author of the classics A Book of Middle Eastern Food and The Book of Jewish Food, and one of our foremost authorities on Mediterranean, North African, and Italian cooking, brings her incomparable authenticity, vision, and immense knowledge to bear in this cookbook on the cuisines of Spain. New York Times bestselling cookbook author Claudia Roden believes that through food a cook can reconstruct an entire world. And in her classic A Book of Middle Eastern Food-eight hundred recipes long, a treasure trove of folk tales, proverbs, stories, poetry, and local history-that's just what she did. Historian and critic Simon Schama has said of her that "Claudia Roden is no more a simple cookbook writer than Marcel Proust was a biscuit baker." The Book of Jewish Food, another classic, is equally magnificent in its span, a cookbook that is also a history of Jewish life and settlement, told through the story of what Jews ate, and where, and why, and how they made it.Now, in The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden applies that same remarkable insight, scope, and authority to a cuisine marked by its regionalism and suffused with an unusually particular culinary history. In hundreds of exquisite recipes, Roden explores both the little known and the classic dishes of Spain-from Andalusia to Asturias, from Catalonia to Galicia. And whether she's writing about smoky, nutty Catalan Romesco sauce, Cordero a la Miel-sweet and hot tender lamb stew with honey-or the iconic, emblematic national dish of Spain, saffron-perfumed Paella Valenciana, her clear, elegant, humorous, and passionate voice is a reader's delight, a guide not only to delicious food but to the peoples and cultures that produced it.Both comprehensive and timeless, The Food of Spain is one of the most important books on this tremendous cuisine to appear in the last fifty years. A classic in the making, it is an essential work not only for fans of Spanish and Mediterranean food but for every serious cook as well as discerning armchair travelers.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Food of Spain

    Title
    The Food of Spain
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Claudia Roden, By (photographer) Jason Lowe
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 609
    Width: 224 mm
    Height: 264 mm
    Thickness: 58 mm
    Weight: 2,495 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780061969621
    ISBN 10: 0061969621
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: FOO
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T16.1
    BIC geographical qualifier V2: 1DSE
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    B&T General Subject: 240
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Subject Code: CW
    Libri: I-CW
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 14540
    BIC subject category V2: WBN
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 23
    DC22: 641.5946
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: ET210
    Ingram Theme: CULT/SPANIS
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 08
    LC subject heading: ,
    DC21: 641.5946
    B&T Approval Code: A97406027, A97402000
    LC classification: TX723.5.S7 R63 2011
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: CKB080000
    Illustrations note
    colour illustrations, frontispiece
    Publisher
    HarperCollins Publishers Inc
    Imprint name
    HarperCollins Publishers
    Publication date
    06 July 2011
    Publication City/Country
    New York, NY
    Review quote
    "After a series of fascinating essays on the historical forces that led to the creation of various Spanish cuisines (among others: Celts and Jews, Frenchmen, monks, peasants and royals), Roden slips into the kitchen to deliver the goods."--Sam Sifton, New York Times Book Review