Flatterland
42%
off

Flatterland : Like Flatland Only More So

By (author) Ian Stewart

US$12.20US$21.36

You save US$9.16

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

show more
  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 138 x 208 x 26mm | 299.37g
  • 18 Apr 2002
  • The Perseus Books Group
  • BASIC BOOKS
  • New York
  • English
  • Annotated
  • Reprint
  • 073820675X
  • 9780738206752
  • 83,903

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Ian Stewart is Professor of Mathematics at the University of Warwick and is well known for his writing and broadcasting about mathematics for nonspecialists. He has written over 140 research papers on such subjects as symmetry in dynamics, pattern formation, chaos, and mathematical biology, as well as numerous popular books, including Letters to a Young Mathematician, Does God Play Dice?, What Shape Is a Snowflake?, Nature's Numbers, The Annotated Flatland, and Flatterland. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2001. He lives in Coventry, England.

show more