Flatterland: Like Flatland Only More So

Flatterland: Like Flatland Only More So

Paperback Art of Mentoring (Paperback)

By (author) Ian Stewart

$13.47
List price $21.98
You save $8.51 38% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: BASIC BOOKS
  • Format: Paperback | 320 pages
  • Dimensions: 138mm x 208mm x 26mm | 299g
  • Publication date: 18 April 2002
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 073820675X
  • ISBN 13: 9780738206752
  • Edition: Annotated
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Illustrations note: illustrations
  • Sales rank: 82,707

Product description

First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10
Categories:

Author information

Ian Stewart is Professor of Mathematics at the University of Warwick and is well known for his writing and broadcasting about mathematics for nonspecialists. He has written over 140 research papers on such subjects as symmetry in dynamics, pattern formation, chaos, and mathematical biology, as well as numerous popular books, including Letters to a Young Mathematician, Does God Play Dice?, What Shape Is a Snowflake?, Nature's Numbers, The Annotated Flatland, and Flatterland. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2001. He lives in Coventry, England.