• Falling Towards England: Unreliable Memoirs II See large image

    Falling Towards England: Unreliable Memoirs II (Paperback) By (author) Clive James

    $10.88 - Save $5.25 32% off - RRP $16.13 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionIn the first volume of 'Unreliable Memoirs', we said farewell to our hero as he set sail from Sydney Harbour, bound for London, fame and fortune. Finding the first of these proved relatively simple; the second two less so. Undaunted, Clive moved into a bed and breakfast in a Swiss Cottage where he practised the Twist, anticipated poetical masterpieces and worried about his wardrobe ...'A comic triumph, full of terrific jokes and brilliantly sustained setpieces' Ian Hamilton, London Review of Books 'James' wickedly funny jokes and jibes make you laugh out loud and feel warm to the man. No wonder women wanted to feed him greens, and men lend him money' The Times

Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10


Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Falling Towards England

    Falling Towards England
    Unreliable Memoirs II
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Clive James
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 176
    Width: 130 mm
    Height: 194 mm
    Thickness: 14 mm
    Weight: 100 g
    ISBN 13: 9780330294379
    ISBN 10: 0330294377

    BIC E4L: PER
    BIC subject category V2: APT, KNT
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T4.8
    DC19: 070.924
    BIC subject category V2: BGB
    LC classification: PR9619.3.J
    BISAC V2.8: PER010000
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 27870
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: BUS070060, BIO003000
    Thema V1.0: ATJ, KNT, DNBB
    Pan MacMillan
    Imprint name
    Publication date
    24 October 1986
    Publication City/Country
    Author Information
    Clive James is the author of more than thirty books. As well as his memoirs, he has published essays, literary and television criticism, travel writing, verse and novels. As a television performer he has appeared regularly for both the BBC and ITV, most notably as writer and presenter of the Postcard series of travel documentaries. He helped to found the independent television production company Watchmaker and the Internet enterprise Welcome Stranger, one of whose offshoots is a multimedia personal website, www.clivejames.com. In 1992 he was made a Member of the Order of Australia and in 2003 he was awarded the Philip Hodgins memorial medal for literature.