The Eye in the Door

The Eye in the Door

By (author)


You save US$3.93

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

The Eye in the Door is the second novel in Pat Barker's classic Regeneration trilogy. Winner Of The 1993 Guardian Fiction Prize. London, 1918. Billy Prior is working for Intelligence in the Ministry of Munitions. But his private encounters with women and men - pacifists, objectors, homosexuals - conflict with his duties as a soldier, and it is not long before his sense of himself fragments and breaks down. Forced to consult the man who helped him before - army psychiatrist William Rivers - Prior must confront his inability to be the dutiful soldier his superiors wish him to be...The Eye in the Door is a heart-rending study of the contradictions of war and of those forced to live through it. "A new vision of what the First World War did to human beings, male and female, soldiers and civilians." (A S Byatt, Daily Telegraph). "Every bit as waveringly intense and intelligent as its predecessor." (Sunday Times). "Startlingly original...spellbinding." (Sunday Telegraph). "Gripping, moving, profoundly intelligent...bursting with energy and darkly funny." (Independent on Sunday). Other titles in the trilogy: Regeneration The Ghost Road.

show more
  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 20mm | 199.58g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • LondonUnited Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141030941
  • 9780141030944
  • 32,224

Other books in First World War

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

Gripping, moving, beautifully constrcted and profoundly intelligent Independent on Sunday

show more

About Pat Barker

Pat Barker was born in 1943. Her books include Another World, Border Crossing, Double Vision, and the highly acclaimed Regeneration trilogy: Regeneration (1991), which was made into a film of the same name; The Eye in the Door (1993), which won the Guardian Fiction Prize; and The Ghost Road (1995), which won the Booker Prize. More recently she has published a second fiction trilogy comprising Life Class, Toby's Room, and the final novel in the series, Noonday-. Pat Barker lives in Durham.

show more

Reviews from