Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Book rating: 04 Paperback

By (author) Jonathan Safran Foer

USD$10.91
List price $14.03
You save $3.12 22% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $19.52
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Format: Paperback | 368 pages
  • Dimensions: 129mm x 198mm x 25mm | 343g
  • Publication date: 19 January 2012
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0241957605
  • ISBN 13: 9780241957608
  • Edition: Media tie-in
  • Edition statement: Film tie-in ed
  • Sales rank: 8,815

Product description

"Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" is Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel. In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key...The key belonged to his father, he's sure of that. But which of New York's 162 million locks does it open? So begins a quest that takes Oskar - inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective - across New York's five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers. He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years. But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father? Moving, literary and innovative, perfect for fans of Lorrie Moore and Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer's "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" was made into a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, released in 2012. Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of "Everything is Illuminated", which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, and "Eating Animals", and the editor of "A Convergence of Birds".

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of Everything is Illuminated, which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, and Eating Animals, and the editor of A Convergence of Birds.

Customer reviews

By Marianne Vincent 06 Jun 2012 5

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close is the 2nd novel by Jonathan Safran Foer. The main story is narrated by nine-year-old Oskar Schell whose father, Thomas, died on 9/11. Some years after his Thomas's death, Oskar finds a key in his father's closet. His determination to find the lock that the key opens is fuelled by his desire to find out exactly how his father died. One small clue with the key leads him to touch the lives of many people and the idea is the six degrees of separation is brought to mind. Oskar is clever, funny, aware, quirky, somewhat precocious, earnest, thoughtful and very resourceful. As he tries to beat his grief-related insomnia, Oskar invents amazing things in his mind, like a birdseed shirt so birds will save the wearer falling from a great height (like the WTC). Interspersed with Oskar's narration are replies from famous people to letters Oskar writes them, photographs Oskar takes with the camera that belonged to the grandfather who left 40 years before he was born, and pictures he downloads from the internet. Adding to the intrigue are the thoughts that Oskar's paternal grandmother sets down in letters to him about her life and unsent letters from the long absent grandfather to his now-dead son. This novel examines how people react to tragedy in their lives, what they do to cope, and what they do to protect those they love from facts they believe will harm them. The ultimate message seems to be to live life as if each moment is your last, and tell the people you love that that you love them. This novel made me laugh out loud and it made me cry. I loved the characters and the private codes they used. A moving and brilliant read.

By Tracy Hudson 07 Apr 2012 3

This certainly differentiates itself from the usual books about 9/11. Seen through the eyes of a child we are taken on an extraordinary discovery of his life.
Read the full book review at http://www.ourbookclub.net.au/LiteratureAndFiction2012.php.

Review quote

Wise, funny, unbearably sad. Speeds across the sky like a new-century comet heralding great events in the asteroid belt of fiction Financial Times Utterly engaging, beautifully realised. From the very page it is a hugely involving read ... a heartbreaker: tragic, funny, intensely moving Spectator Serious, funny, yet achingly heartbreaking Herald Dramatically original ... Safran Foer is a writer of considerable brilliance Observer