Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
15%
off

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key ...The key belonged to his father, he's sure of that. But which of New York's 162 million locks does it open? So begins a quest that takes Oskar - inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective - across New York's five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers. He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years. But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father? Moving, literary and innovative, perfect for fans of Lorrie Moore and Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer's Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close was made into a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, released in 2012. Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of Everything is Illuminated, which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, and Eating Animals, and the editor of A Convergence of Birds.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 109.22 x 177.8 x 27.94mm | 226.8g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141025182
  • 9780141025186
  • 1,181

About Jonathan Safran Foer

Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977 in Washington, DC. He is the author of Everything Is Illuminated, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, and Eating Animals. He has also edited a new modern edition of the sacred Jewish Haggadah. Everything Is Illuminated won several literary prizes, including the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book Award. He edited the anthology A Convergence of Birds: Original Fiction and Poetry Inspired by the Work of Joseph Cornell, and his stories have been published in the Paris Review, Conjunctions and the New Yorker. Jonathan Safran Foer teaches Creative Writing at New York University. His forthcoming book, Here I Am, will be published in Autumn 2016 by Hamish Hamilton.show more

Customer reviews

I'm very much into the post 9/11 fictional accounts. Although I expected a bit more of that to be present here explicitely, I was delighted it wasn't. Oscar as the main character is believable and his thoughts, actions and feelings are moving. An intelligent young boy's dealing with tragedy is provoking and honest. It takes us back to that day of tragedy, and Foer's depiction of it through Oskar and the characters is right there among DeLillo and Updike. I highly recommend it.show more
by Gaj Tomas