Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close


You save US$3.16

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

"Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" is Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel. In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key...The key belonged to his father, he's sure of that. But which of New York's 162 million locks does it open? So begins a quest that takes Oskar - inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective - across New York's five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers. He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years. But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father? Moving, literary and innovative, perfect for fans of Lorrie Moore and Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer's "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" was made into a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, released in 2012. Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of "Everything is Illuminated", which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, and "Eating Animals", and the editor of "A Convergence of Birds".

show more
  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 30mm | 322.05g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • LondonUnited Kingdom
  • English
  • black & white illustrations, colour illustrations
  • 0141012692
  • 9780141012698
  • 3,031

Other books in Contemporary Fiction

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"[A] dazzling literary high-wire act . . . brilliant . . . The payoff is extraordinary: a fearless, acrobatic, ultimately haunting effort to combine inspired mischief with a grasp of the unthinkable."

show more

About Jonathan Safran Foer

Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of Everything is Illuminated, which won the Guardian First Book award, and the editor of A Convergence of Birds, to be published by Hamish Hamilton in 2006.

show more

Reviews from Goodreads.com