Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Book rating: 04 Paperback

By (author) Jonathan Safran Foer

$11.28
List price $14.04
You save $2.76 19% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $19.67
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Format: Paperback | 368 pages
  • Dimensions: 128mm x 194mm x 30mm | 322g
  • Publication date: 1 May 2010
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0141012692
  • ISBN 13: 9780141012698
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations, colour illustrations
  • Sales rank: 2,791

Product description

"Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" is Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel. In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key...The key belonged to his father, he's sure of that. But which of New York's 162 million locks does it open? So begins a quest that takes Oskar - inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective - across New York's five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers. He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years. But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father? Moving, literary and innovative, perfect for fans of Lorrie Moore and Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer's "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" was made into a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, released in 2012. Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of "Everything is Illuminated", which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, and "Eating Animals", and the editor of "A Convergence of Birds".

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of Everything is Illuminated, which won the Guardian First Book award, and the editor of A Convergence of Birds, to be published by Hamish Hamilton in 2006.

Customer reviews

By Ioana Bucur 03 Apr 2012 5

I absolutely adored this book. Oskar is the most wonderful character ever! If I ever have kids, I hope they'll have at least a bit of Oskar in them.
Also, I found the process of healing very realistic and believable. It is a heartbreaking book and it's beautifully written.

By Abd Hamid Hassan-Jacob 24 Feb 2012 5

I was moved by this book. I hate to end it and I kept putting it aside so that I will spend more time reading it.
Oskar is a gem. I look forward to seeing the film and I hope it will be as good as the film.

By Lore 16 Apr 2010 4

It's an enchanting and heartbreaking book. I loved Oskar and his quest(s).

Review quote

"[A] dazzling literary high-wire act . . . brilliant . . . The payoff is extraordinary: a fearless, acrobatic, ultimately haunting effort to combine inspired mischief with a grasp of the unthinkable."