Eros the Bittersweet

Eros the Bittersweet

Paperback American Literature (Dalkey Archive)

By (author) Anne Carson

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks
  • Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
  • Format: Paperback | 190 pages
  • Dimensions: 140mm x 211mm x 18mm | 136g
  • Publication date: 31 December 1998
  • Publication City/Country: Normal, IL
  • ISBN 10: 1564781887
  • ISBN 13: 9781564781888
  • Sales rank: 50,063

Product description

A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called Eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Anne Carson is the author of Glass, Irony and God; Autobiography of Red; The Beauty of the Husband; Men in the Off Hours; and other books.

Review quote

Anne Carson is a rare talent-brilliant and full of wit, passionate and also deeply moving. -- Michael Ondaatje

Back cover copy

A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.