Eros the Bittersweet
29%
off

Eros the Bittersweet

By (author)

US$9.90US$13.95

You save US$4.05

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Description

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time. A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called Eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 190 pages
  • 139.7 x 210.82 x 17.78mm | 136.08g
  • Dalkey Archive Press
  • Normal, IL, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1564781887
  • 9781564781888
  • 36,920

Review quote

Anne Carson is a rare talent-brilliant and full of wit, passionate and also deeply moving. -- Michael Ondaatje

show more

Back cover copy

A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

show more

About Anne Carson

Anne Carson is the author of Glass, Irony and God; Autobiography of Red; The Beauty of the Husband; Men in the Off Hours; and other books.

show more