Enthusiasm

Enthusiasm

Book rating: 05 Paperback

By (author) Polly Shulman

$8.22
List price $8.99
You save $0.77 (8%)

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Format: Paperback | 198 pages
  • Dimensions: 140mm x 206mm x 15mm | 181g
  • Publication date: 6 September 2007
  • Publication City/Country: New York, NY
  • ISBN 10: 0142409359
  • ISBN 13: 9780142409350
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Sales rank: 250,829

Product description

"When someone asks for a reading suggestion, "Enthusiasm "is the first word off my tongue." --Stephenie Meyer, author of "Twilight" "There is little more likely to exasperate a person of sense than finding herself tied by affection and habit to an Enthusiast." Julie knows from bitter experience: her best friend, Ashleigh, is an Enthusiast. Ashleigh's current fancy is also Julie's own passion, "Pride and Prejudice," and the heroine's quest for True Love. And so Julie finds herself swept along with Ashleigh, dressed in vintage frocks and sneaking into a dance at the local all-boys' prep school. There they discover several likely candidates for True Love, including the handsome and sensitive Parr. And Julie begins to wonder if maybe this obsession of Ashleigh's isn't so bad after all. . . . Fans of Jane Austen and Meg Cabot, and Maureen Johnson alike will swoon for Polly Shulman's charming novel.

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Polly Shulman is also the author of "The Grimm Legacy "(a Bank Street Best Book and Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Finalist) and its companion novel, "The Wells Bequest." She has written for many newspapers and magazines, including "The New York Times," "Discover," "Newsday," "Salon," "Slate," "Smithsonian," "Scientific American," "Archaeology," and" The Village Voice." She has never dared to crash a dance, but when she was in high school she sometimes wrote her math homework in rhyme and meter. She majored in math at Yale and grew up in New York City, where she lives with her husband in a tall old building guarded by gargoyles.

Customer reviews

By TeensReadToo 23 Sep 2010 5

There are plenty of reasons for readers to be enthusiastic about Polly Shulman's new novel, ENTHUSIASM! It is full of fascinating characters, funny situations, and even romance. The book is told from the point of view of Julie, who is best friends with always-enthusiastic Ashleigh. Ashleigh doesn't just have interests; for her, they're always full-blown obsessions. She's been through phases where she has loved a band called the Wet Blankets, Harriet the Spy, ballet, King Arthur, and a lot more. When Julie lent her friend PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, by Jane Austen, the newest fad began.

For Ashleigh, the Enthusiast, it could never be just a great book. She's got to speak like someone from hundreds of years ago, learn ballroom dancing, wear long skirts, and find True Love. As usual, Julie's got to try and talk some sense into her friend. Sure, they'll still end up publicly humiliated (as usual), but maybe it can be to a lesser degree. Perhaps she can convince Ashleigh to at least put on some jeans!

No matter what Julie does, however, she still can't convince Ashleigh to give up the idea of finding True Love--dressing and acting like the heroine from a Jane Austen novel. Ashleigh is convinced they'll be able to find True Love while crashing a dance at the local boys' prep school, Forefield Academy. The rest of the story has confusion, romance, comedy, humiliation, and a lot more that will have readers hooked up until the very last page!

It's a story that teens will be able to relate to, even if their best friends aren't nearly so enthusiastic as Ashleigh. Everyone's been embarrassed by a friend, but you've still got to stick by them, right? And then of course there's the fact that Ashleigh has set her sights on the guy Julie's crushing on. A sticky situation that lots of girls can relate to! Told in Julie's engaging, witty voice, this entertaining story has every element of a great young adult novel that is sure to be popular for a long time to come. I know I'm not alone in hoping for another novel by Polly Shulman that's as unique and interesting as this one!

Review quote

"When someone asks for a reading suggestion, "Enthusiasm "is the first word off my tongue." --Stephenie Meyer, author of the Twilight Saga ""Enthusiasm," like "Pride and Prejudice," bubbles over with romantic misunderstandings and comic confusion." --"New York Times Book Review, "an Editors' Choice book ""Enthusiasm "has the makings of an instant classic!" --"Time "magazine "A fanciful romance . . . delightfully wholesome." --"Newsday" *"Wry [and] engaging . . . an impressive first novel."--"Booklist," starred review "A charming romantic comedy!"--"SLJ" "Witty exchanges, comic errors and miscommunications that could be taken right out of a Jane Austen novel. Readers [will be] caught up in this debut novel's romantic whimsy and humor."--"Publishers Weekly" "Equal parts romance and farce, this novel is an enjoyable read. Julie's wry voice and self-deprecating humor will make the conclusion satisfying."--"VOYA"