• The End of Your Life Book Club See large image

    The End of Your Life Book Club (Paperback) By (author) Will Schwalbe

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $12.27 - Save $3.86 23% off - RRP $16.13 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Hardback $21.30
    CD-Audio $23.62

    DescriptionMary Anne Schwalbe is waiting for her chemotherapy treatments when Will casually asks her what she's reading. The conversation they have grows into tradition: soon they are reading the same books so they can have something to talk about in the hospital waiting room. Their choices range from classic (Howards End) to popular (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), from fantastic (The Hobbit) to spiritual (Jon Kabat-Zinn), with many in between. We hear their passion for reading and their love for each other in their intimate and searching discussions. A profoundly moving testament to the power of love between a child and parent, and the power of reading in our lives. 'A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them.' - Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie 'a true meditation on what books can do.' - Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The End of Your Life Book Club

    Title
    The End of Your Life Book Club
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Will Schwalbe
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 352
    Width: 128 mm
    Height: 196 mm
    Thickness: 24 mm
    Weight: 260 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781444706383
    ISBN 10: 1444706381
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: BIO
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T4.0A
    BIC subject category V2: VFJB
    Libri: ENGM1010
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11110
    BIC subject category V2: BM, MJCL
    Libri: AMER3710
    BISAC V2.8: MED062000, HEA039000, BIO026000, BIO000000
    DC23: 362.1969940092
    Thema V1.0: VFJB, MJCL, DNC
    Publisher
    Hodder & Stoughton General Division
    Imprint name
    Two Roads
    Publication date
    20 June 2013
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Will Schwalbe has worked in publishing 'most recently as senior vice president and editor in chief of Hyperion Books'; digital media, as the founder and CEO of Cookstr.com; and as a journalist, writing for various publications including The New York Times and the South China Morning Post. He is on the boards of Yale University Press and the Kingsborough Community College Foundation. He is the coauthor, with David Shipley, of Send: Why People Email So Badly and How to Do It Better. Find out more about The End of Your Life Book Club on www.theendofyourlifebookclub.com Follow Will on Twitter at twitter.com/willsch/ Friend Will on Facebook at facebook.com/will.schwalbe Follow Will on Pinterest at pinterest.com/willschwalbe/
    Review quote
    Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done. Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Cleopatra I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do. Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes A perfect book-club book about books and the community they create that also portrays the love between mother and son. Library Journal Will Schwalbe's brave and soulful elegy to his remarkable mother, his recollection of their sparklingly literate conversations, is a timely reminder that one exceptional person, or one exceptional book, can be a torch in the darkness. You'll turn the last page wishing you'd met Mary Anne Schwalbe, vowing to be worthy of her incandescent example - and promising yourself to read more. J. R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar At last a book that celebrates the role books play within our own story. Will Schwalbe has created a tender, moving and honest portrayal of the precious relationship between a mother and son - an ode to that beautiful thing called love. Cecilia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them. Like the printed volumes it celebrates, this story will stay with you long after the last page. Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Time Keeper an astonishing, pertinent, and wonderfully welcome work. Publishers Weekly starred review An extraordinarily wise, witty, and quietly wrenching book about parental love, filial love, profound grief, and literature's great consolations. How wonderful to encounter a writer who combines erudition with great emotional honesty, and who isn't afraid of addressing life's most profound and baffling questions. Douglas Kennedy, author of Leaving the World and The Pursuit of Happiness a moving and inspiring story Choice Magazine This touching and insightful memoir about the slow process of dying will appeal to readers of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture, but also to people who love delving into books and book discussions. Like Mary Anne, who reads the ending first, you know how this book is going to end, but while it is a story about death, it is mostly a celebration of life and of the way books can enrich it. Booklist (starred review) What self-respecting reader isn't a sucker for a great book about other great books? The End of Your Life Book Club is that much and more. BookPage a graceful, affecting testament to a mother and a life well lived. Entertainment Weekly Literature bridges generations in Will Schwalbe's thoughtful tribute to his late mother Vogue.com a tribute to a remarkable woman and an exemplary reader. Salon A truly poignant read ... a moving tribute to a wonderful-sounding mum and the power of fiction. Good Housekeeping It helps of course if you are a book lover and can relate to the passion for reading, but even prolific readers will find that the book teaches them not only about life and death but about the power of a really good book to move you and peel off the onion skin layers of "what you already know" and reveal truths. Curious Book Fans a life-enhancing celebration of the power of books and reading, very much in the vein of Tuesdays with Morrie Independent