• Empty Mansions: The Mysterious Life of Huguette Clark and the Loss of One of the World's Greatest Fortunes See large image

    Empty Mansions: The Mysterious Life of Huguette Clark and the Loss of One of the World's Greatest Fortunes (Paperback) By (author) Bill Dedman, By (author) Paul Clark Newell

    $23.53 - Save $3.82 13% off - RRP $27.35 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionIn the tradition of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, an extraordinary Dickensian story of wealth and eccentricity. Empty Mansions is a rich mystery of wealth and loss, connecting the Gilded Age opulence of nineteenth-century America with a twenty-first-century battle over a $300 million inheritance. At its heart is a reclusive heiress named Huguette Clark, a woman so secretive that, at the time of her death at age 104, no new photograph of her had been seen in decades. Though she owned palatial homes in California, New York, and Connecticut, why had she lived for twenty years in a simple hospital room, despite being in excellent health? Why were her valuables being sold off? Was she in control of her fortune, or controlled by those managing her money? Huguette Clark was the daughter of self-made copper industrialist W. A. Clark, nearly as rich as Rockefeller in his day, a controversial senator, railroad builder, and founder of Las Vegas. She grew up in the largest house in New York City, a remarkable dwelling with 121 rooms for a family of four. She owned paintings by Degas and Renoir, a world-renowned Stradivarius violin, a vast collection of antique dolls. But wanting more than treasures, she devoted her wealth to buying gifts for friends and strangers alike, to quietly pursuing her own work as an artist, and to guarding the privacy she valued above all else. Empty Mansions reveals a complex portrait of the mysterious Huguette and her intimate circle. We meet her extravagant father, her publicity-shy mother, her star-crossed sister, her French boyfriend, her nurse who received more than $30 million in gifts, and the relatives fighting to inherit Huguette's copper fortune. Richly illustrated with more than seventy photographs, Empty Mansions is an enthralling story of an eccentric of the highest order, a last jewel of the Gilded Age who lived life on her own terms.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Empty Mansions

    Title
    Empty Mansions
    Subtitle
    The Mysterious Life of Huguette Clark and the Loss of One of the World's Greatest Fortunes
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Bill Dedman, By (author) Paul Clark Newell
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 496
    Width: 156 mm
    Height: 234 mm
    Thickness: 39 mm
    Weight: 830 g
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781782394761
    ISBN 10: 1782394761
    Classifications

    BIC geographical qualifier V2: 1KBB
    BIC E4L: BIO
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T4.0
    BIC subject category V2: BG
    BIC time period qualifier V2: 3JJ, 3JMC
    BIC subject category V2: 1KBB
    BISAC V2.8: BIO000000
    BIC subject category V2: 3JJ, 3JMC
    DC23: 973.9092
    Edition statement
    Export & Airside ed
    Illustrations note
    73 b&w integrated and 3x8pp colour photographs
    Publisher
    ATLANTIC BOOKS
    Imprint name
    ATLANTIC BOOKS
    Publication date
    03 July 2014
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Bill Dedman introduced the public to heiress Huguette Clark and her empty mansions through his compelling series of narratives for NBC, which became the most popular feature in the history of its news website, topping 110 million page views. He received the 1989 Pulitzer Prize in investigative reporting while writing for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and has written for The New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Boston Globe. Paul Clark Newell Jr, a cousin of Huguette Clark, has researched the Clark family history for twenty years, sharing many conversations with Huguette about her life and family. He once received a rare private tour of Bellosguardo, her mysterious estate overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Santa Barbara.
    Review quote
    "'An amazing story of profligate wealth... an outsized tale of rags-to-riches prosperity' (The New York Times) 'An evocative and rollicking read, part social history, part hothouse mystery, part grand guignol.' (The Daily Beast) 'Empty Mansions is at once an engrossing portrait of a forgotten American heiress and a fascinating meditation on the crosswinds of extreme wealth. Hugely entertaining and well researched, Empty Mansions is a fabulous read.' (Amanda Foreman) 'One of those incredible stories that you didn't even know existed. It filled a void.' (Jon Stewart, The Daily Show)"