• Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British See large image

    Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British (Paperback) By (author) Jeremy Paxman

    $12.22 - Save $3.91 24% off - RRP $16.13 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionFrom the bestselling author of "The English" comes "Empire", Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr. The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings; the way we travel to the way we trade; the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away. In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire. As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was "to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable"') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves. "Paxman is witty, incisive, acerbic and opinionated...In short, he carries the whole thing off with panache bordering on effrontery". (Piers Brendon, "Sunday Times"). "Paxman is a magnificent historian, and "Empire" may be remembered as his finest work". ("Independent on Sunday"). Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for "Panorama". He is the author of five books including "The English". He is the presenter of "Newsnight" and "University Challenge" and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Empire

    Title
    Empire
    Subtitle
    What Ruling the World Did to the British
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Jeremy Paxman
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 368
    Width: 129 mm
    Height: 198 mm
    Thickness: 26 mm
    Weight: 341 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780670919598
    ISBN 10: 0670919594
    Classifications

    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 27430
    BIC E4L: HIS
    BIC subject category V2: HBJD1
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T5.3
    BIC geographical qualifier V2: 1QDB
    BIC subject category V2: HBTQ
    BISAC V2.8: HIS037000
    BIC subject category V2: 1QDB
    DC23: 909.0971241
    Thema V1.0: NHD, NHTQ
    Publisher
    Penguin Books Ltd
    Imprint name
    VIKING
    Publication date
    07 June 2012
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for Panorama. He is the author of five books including The English. He is the presenter of Newsnight and University Challenge and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.