• Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle See large image

    Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle (Paperback) By (author) Chris Hedges

    $11.40 - Save $6.35 35% off - RRP $17.75 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionWe now live in two Americas. One--now the minority--functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other--the majority--is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority--which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected--presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture--attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies--to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Empire of Illusion

    Title
    Empire of Illusion
    Subtitle
    The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Chris Hedges
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 240
    Width: 140 mm
    Height: 210 mm
    Thickness: 18 mm
    Weight: 240 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781568586137
    ISBN 10: 1568586132
    Classifications

    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 25610
    BIC geographical qualifier V2: 1KBB
    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T8.7
    BIC E4L: SOC
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    BISAC V2.8: SOC052000
    BIC subject category V2: JFCA
    B&T General Subject: 750
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 01
    BISAC V2.8: SOC022000
    Ingram Subject Code: SO
    Libri: I-SO
    DC22: 302.23
    LC subject heading: ,
    BISAC V2.8: LAN004000
    DC22: 306.0973
    B&T Approval Code: A31225000
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Approval Code: A34301800
    BIC subject category V2: 1KBB
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: LAN010000
    LC classification: P92.U5 H365 2009
    Thema V1.0: JBCC1
    Edition statement
    First Trade Paper Edition
    Publisher
    Avalon Publishing Group
    Imprint name
    Nation Books
    Publication date
    11 November 2010
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    Chris Hedges is a fellow of The Nation Institute. He spent nearly two decades as a foreign correspondent in Central America, the Middle East, Africa, and the Balkans, with fifteen years at the New York Times. He is the author of the best-selling War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning and American Fascists. He currently writes for numerous publications, including Harper's, The New York Review of Books, Granta, and Mother Jones. A columnist for Truthdig, he lives in Princeton, New Jersey.